No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (3)
  • Key part to giving me the best lawn ever
  • May 17, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Going to apply this review to all the related Home Depot products I recently purchased…. After the California drought last year my yard was a disaster. We decided to hire a landscaper to update the front yard, which was a sloped lawn and difficult to water. We created a lower tier for plants/shrubs and the top tier was laid with new sod. I wanted an irrigation controller/timer that was as easy to use as my Nest thermostat. I found the Rachio controller. Great product. I read the online documentation and viewed their website videos... which had me sold. The mobile App is great, easy to install, and gave me the confidence to properly manage my yard. I could tell you about all the cool features, however recommend you to see the videos for yourself on their website. Also, research into rebates from your water agency. They refunded me the full amount. This gave me the confidence to take on the yard maintenance and letting the gardener go. I had a gas mower before and recently borrowed a neighbor’s electronic mower. Both experience led to consider battery powered tools. All research led to the Ryobi 40 volt tools. I wanted the power of electric without the cord. I have not been disappointed. Best features are the compact size, light weight, and the ability to fold down the handles for easy storage. I also need to hedge trimmer and edger/weed eater, so I purchased the compatible Ryobi 40 volt units. TIP: I bought the Ryobi lawnmower with two batteries and the hedge and edger with no battery. For my size yard I can complete the work for two weeks (30 – 50 minutes) on a single battery. I may eventually get the blower which will need the extra battery. Last step to complete the cycle was to feed the lawn… fertilizer. I saw an Ad on TV about the Scotts App. I knew it would promote their products, but figured it was worth at least a season to test. Very easy to enter my lawn size and information. It recommended Scotts Green Max Lawn Food, which promised deep greening in 3 days. I remember looking after 3 days and not noticing that much of a difference. However, after 2 weeks the yard looked great. Very green and growing in thick. It has been 4 weeks and I have to say this is the BEST my lawn has ever looked. Especially the back yard, which was trashed after the drought last year. In January I really considered tearing out the (back) lawn and re-sod. I am glad I waited. I attribute the growth to both the Max Lawn Food and the watering managed by Rachio. Overall… love all the products. Never been happier with my lawn or the way it looks. Hope this helps other who are looking to take on their lawn chores.

  • DIY

indysolo

Sacramento, Ca
35 to 44, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: indysolo
  • Gotta get that green
  • June 07, 2016
  • Recommended Product

My yard is greener then my neighbors, that's all I have to say about that.

Kipp

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kipp
  • Neighbor
  • December 07, 2016
  • Recommended Product

This product does exactly what it states. I have tried other fertilizers out there and nothing comes close to this product. Just be careful scots has a new version of this fertilizer where it does not STAIN your sidewalk or driveway. Must try, landscaping companies have numerous times stopped and asked what I use on my grass. If you are reading this I was like you doing research on this product and reading reviews, stop reading trust me it's great.

Dance

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dance
  • Excellent fertilizer. I wouldn't say the grrening occurred in...
  • January 17, 2017

Excellent fertilizer. I wouldn't say the grrening occurred in 3 days, but definitely greening and increased growth after a week. Easy to spread, clean up and did not burn.

PSFish

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PSFish
  • The jury is still out.
  • December 15, 2016
  • Recommended Product

There was a unbelievably good sale price on this product. I had used GreenMax in the past and was very pleased. I live on 4 acres and the winter rye grass was looking a little on the pail side. So I bought 20 bags of the product, going a like crazy because it was such a great price. I hurried to get The fertilizer down before we had a good rain thr next day. I had high hopes for a deep darkening in a few days. It has been over a week now and I have noticed no change. I plan to call Scotts and see what they have to say. The area where I put no fertilizer uphill fro where I broadcast looks no different from where I applied the product. I still have many bags left to use for green up in the Spring, but now I'm not so sure if it really works. For the price I paid, I am not upset at all, just disappointed in the results. The product has worked really well for me in the past. Does the product have a shelf life?

CharlietheMapleman

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CharlietheMapleman
  • Works as described!
  • July 27, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Works as stated! Grass is greener in days with watering

  • Top 250 Contributor

Frank

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Frank
  • Ironite is better
  • July 27, 2016

There was almost no difference i how my lawn looked several days after the application - with consistent watering (not over-watering)....

Cons does not work
  • DIY

RockyMountainRonbo

Colorado
45 to 54, Male
more details...
By: RockyMountainRonbo
  • Works exactly how it's surppose to
  • August 04, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I've been using a number of different Scotts products to get the perfect lawn The Green Max if applied correctly will give you a green lawn in about 3 dAYS. However you have to water your lawn after it. I usually water my yard after putting green max down once every 2 days for 15 minutes in the morning. I find that if I do this I have a green lawn and it will stay green until the next time I need to put Green max down. I also use the Scotts my lawn app which is the best find ever. This will tell you which products to use in which month for your area and how much water your yard has that week. If you follow the Scotts app guide you can't go wrong.

Pros Great Quality
  • DIY

BB

Marietta, GA
25 to 34, Male
more details...
By: BB
  • Good product and results in a few days with the help of some rain.
  • October 25, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Good product and results in a few days with the help of some rain.

PaulD20

more details...
By: PaulD20
  • Beware the stains!
  • August 16, 2016

This is the second time in 2 years I bought but missed the warning about stains to concrete. Yes as the go-to brand it delivers green, and yes, shame on me! But don't be in a rush and miss the warning, make certain NOT to get ANY on concrete!

Pros Functionality Cons stains
  • DIY

b9engineer

Dallas
55 to 64, Male
more details...
By: b9engineer