Product Reviews For Ryobi Wood and Metal Door Lock Installation Kit

Overall Rating
2.9/5
  • Useless...don't waste your money
  • July 22, 2014
  • Useless and does not come with instructions. The door jam does not properly align as it is supposed to and you have to guess how to properly use it.
  • By: Baitfish
  • Did what it needed to
  • July 08, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Trouble was the plastic casing. Needs a metal guide to keep the drill from chewing up the guide hole. But it served its purpose.
  • By: JoeJoe
  • Great little device!
  • July 02, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Made preparing a door for installation very easy. Easy to clamp on the door and all you have to do is put the correct size drill attachment on and in a few minutes you are ready to install a door knob.
  • By: Geneticswhiz
  • do not use!
  • June 02, 2014
  • echo all the bad reviews, the spring clips are not accurate and will cause the hole to not be perpendicular. shoddy. waste my time and money, now i have to return it and will go with the DeWalt or Milwaukee. sad.
  • By: spedrunr
  • Probably should have gone with the Milwaukee kit
  • May 25, 2014
  • I was intending to buy the Milwaukee set when I saw this Ryobi kit in the store. Aside from being $15 less what attracted me to the Ryobi was the guide it had for the door jam placement. The salesperson in the store said he used it without any problems.As far as I can tell all of these kits are made of plastic so none are going to bear up to hard use. But what I didn't like about the Ryobi was it used springs to hold the mechanism in place, and of course it never held parallel to any surface without being hand held in place. My door was a natural finish so the springs didn't mar any surface but I could see it scratching a painted surface. The Milwaukee appears to have a screw adjustment (never looked for sure) which should avoid that problem.I ended up using the guide to get the holes started and then manually finished the drilling without the guide in place. One other problem I encountered was the large hole saw was very difficult to get off the drill attachment. Ended up using a vice and a screw driver through the side holes to get it off. In the end everything worked out find. As for the door job guide it ended up not being all that critical. It did help align the top and bottom but not the depth (side to side) distance which I measured using a screw driver with the door in place. If there had already been a hole the guide should be more useful to properly align things.
  • By: eahern3
  • Very useful product
  • May 01, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This product was easy to use and worked perfectly. I bought it having to replace 6 new deadbolts that were bigger in diameter than the old ones and this kit allowed me to drill bigger holes perfectly over the smaller ones. Big time and headache saver.
  • By: EasyE
  • A scratch Awl and a paper template worked better.
  • April 23, 2014
  • Doing installing a passage set free hand would have been better. The people I was working for did not seem that happy with the job I did. In the past when just using a speed bore bit and and a hole saw free hand suing a paper template work better and I would have saved the money I spent. I didn't return the thing because I lost some of the packaging. I should have known that a spring band brace would not hold this thing steady enough. The metal type with a screw clam does.
  • By: Stan
  • The product works but has one flaw.
  • April 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • The product works but has one flaw, when mounted on the door it does not spread out squarely causing the hole to not line up which makes it difficult to cover the hole when the hardware is mounted. It flex's when mounted to door causing the off set.
  • By: chefron
  • This product will help get the job done!
  • April 15, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • This is one of the best tools out there for DIY people. Everything you need in is this package for perfect door and lock installation. This alignment door tool will help you place locks and door handles with ease. The door striker plate will align your locks perfectly. Great price and value for this tool. A must have for everyone,even if your a pro.
  • By: Dave
  • Do not buy this
  • April 14, 2014
  • I bought this because the kit contained all the hole saws I needed. Well the plastic guide scratches the paint and moves around. It's easier to just use the paper template that came with the lock. After using the large hole saw, it stuck to the core and I could not use the smaller hole saw. I had to use the spade bit that was in the package( I didn't see the purpose of this bit included till then) which was wobbly. As far as the guide drill bit too long, you can adjust to start shorter and extend it after you cut through this side of the door. Buy 2 hole saw separately and do it simple
  • By: DIYwoman