Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Not very helpful
  • August 22, 2010

I bought this "tool" to help installing locksets on three exterior steel doors to my home. The holding springs are so stiff that the sides of the guide bowed. That can't be good for accuracy.The hole saw guides might be useful if the hole-saw pilot bit were not so long. As supplied, this tool is no help locating the center of the holes until the center has been identified by other means. Then it is superfluous.Instructions are vague -- especially in regards the mortise locator. I found it useful only after measuring and cutting the mortise in the jamb. Then the locator actually helps place the rest of the tool in the right spot on the door. Sort of.Basically, the user needs to take the usual careful measurements before this 'convenient tool' can do much. And by that time it is no longer needed. Save your $20.

Mistress

Maryland
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mistress
  • Poor overall design
  • November 15, 2013

Owning quite a few Royobi tools and liking all of them this tool was a major disappointment.First off the metal spring clips scratch the doors if you are not very careful (I ended up wrapping mine with duct tape to keep if from scratching doors.The spring clips are also too strong or stiff for the cheap plastic frame that the jig is made of, causing the whole tool to bow out. Care must be taken to adjust for the angle change caused by the tool bowing or your hole will not end up going straight through the door but at an angle instead.In my opinion the absolute worst part of the whole kit is the way that the hole saws mount to the arbor, the torque created from cutting the hole in the door causes the two pieces to bind together making it almost impossible to change hole saw sizes. I was able to do it but it took almost 15 minutes using vice grips carefully so as not to damage the hole saw.In summary, I would have to say that no one from Royobi ever tried this tool out in a real world scenario prior to adding it to their product lineup.

Pros: nothing good to say Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor design
  • Pro

ChuckMc

Hurricane, WV
45 to 54,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ChuckMc
  • the instructions are terrible.
  • June 17, 2011

the product has very poor instructions and the arbor for the holesaws is not adjustable. You can not adjust the bit in order to start the pilot hole while the hole saw is in the guide which completely takes the help out of the tool. The product is worth buying because of the price of holesaws but the cheaper brands work much better. The auto strike finder makes no sense at all except that it will line up the height but you still have to figure where to drill the hole. NO, I WOULD NEVER SUGGEST FOR ANY ONE TO BUY THIS PRODUCT.

WALT2GO

Boynton Beach FL
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WALT2GO
  • Disposable kit
  • February 07, 2013

If would of known this kit was a single use kit I would of went for the more expensive yellow brand kit. I am loyal to the ryobi brand (9 power tools) so I thought this kit would be okay, never have I been more wrong. First off the metal spring guides broke. the "strike finder" was confusing and didn't even use. The drill bit broke. I kept what I could and trashed over half of it. Just go get a different kit, there are better made ones out there

Pros: All In One, Light Weight Cons: Not Durable
  • DIY

Logan


25 to 34,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Logan
  • Do not waste your money on this
  • May 02, 2013

This kit comes with everything I needed to install a door lock EXCEPT: good instructions and a bracket that stays locked in place in the door during installation.This was my first drilling-holes-in-a-door-we-killed-ourselves-to-install (exterior metal outswing in an interior hallway where there wasn't a door previously) or really any door so I was nervous. I read and reread the bulleted instructions that referenced items in beautiful graphic drawings marked with figure numbers, but the terse bulleted instructions didn't reference a figure (as in: "see figure 2."). I watched a youtube video of a guy so easily measure and cut his holes in doors like he does it in his sleep.I improvised - I put the bracket on, wiggled it until I thought it looked right, marked the holes on the door by using the hole saws for the cross and latch bores in the guide, took it off and measured like the guy on the video. I did this several times, noting that the bracket sides bowed out and weren't parallel to the door which bugged me, each time marking a little bit of a different area until I thought WHAT THE HECK LET'S SEE WHAT HAPPENS, LETS DRILL HOLES IN THIS MOTHER HUBBARD.The first reviewer is right - the pilot drill bit is longer (so it can poke out on the other side and give you a reference for cutting the other side) but too long to accurately line up the hole saw for the cross bore, so you'll see bits of plastic flying. You'll probably be so focused on keeping the drill/saw straight that you may not notice the bracket moving ever so slightly either up, down or as in my case, toward the edge of the door.I cut a beautiful cross bore hole. I couldn't have been happier except that the guide had moved toward the edge of the door while cutting the first hole (probably because I started the pilot too far toward that side). SO a new door, tired muscles and cursing are in my future.If you watch the youtube video of the guy measuring and cutting, or use a better guide that screws into place, I think you'll be happier with your results.I sent Ryobi a note about this...tool. We'll see if they respond.

Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor instructions, bad design, waste of money, waste of time, waste of a good door
  • DIY

Jules

Richmond, VA
45 to 54,Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jules
  • Does drill hole straight through door
  • November 08, 2011
  • Verified Purchase

This product does not grip the door correctly and can move while drilling. The movement causes your hole to go through the door at an angle. I have drilled two doors with it and was extremely cautious with the second door and had the same outcome. This product will be going bact to Home depot.

  • DIY

atlengr

Atlanta, GA, USA
35 to 44,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: atlengr
  • Horrible--Do Not Use!
  • December 21, 2011

Not much more to add than the other reviewers. The instructions are awful, the metal springs marked up the door, and the jig moved around plenty while I was drilling. Also, once I mounted the 2 1/8" hole saw onto the drill bit adapter, I could not remove it to install the 1" hole saw--despite a significant amount of torque. I bought this thinking it would be the same as the Irwin kit I saw on youtube--I was sadly mistaken.

  • DIY

Frustrated

Poulsbo, WA 98370, USA
35 to 44,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Frustrated
  • Do not buy.
  • August 08, 2012

1. Drill is too long to allow the hole saw to be lined up in the guide.2. Drill broke immediately on metal door.3. No way to remove 2 1/8 hole saw after use because it tightens up and there is no hex nut.

Cons: impossible to use.
  • DIY

danmc

Marshall, AR 72650, USA
65 or over,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: danmc
  • great idea
  • February 05, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

we couldn't have done the job without it. It would be better if maybe it was all metal so it would stay exactely in place and not shift a little. Doing this makes the hole slightly off, but easy enough to fix.

Pros: Easy to Use
  • DIY

lovell019


45 to 54,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lovell019
  • Woth the money!
  • October 07, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I needed a tool that would enlarge the existing doorknob hole. Drilling a pilot hole was not possible since a small deadbolt hole was already in place.The standard for today's deadbolt is a little over 2 inches. Close to 2 1/4 in.This tool held drill in place as I widened hole. Afterwards slipped new lock in place with no further problem.

Pros: Easy to Use
  • DIY

Sky1

Atlanta
55 to 64,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sky1