Product Reviews For Maine Woods Pellet High Quality Wood Pellet Fuel 40 lb. (50-Pack)

Overall Rating
2.9/5
  • Fireside brand: Burns well, doesn't have excessive residue
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Fireside pellets: This ton burns well, but the residue isn't as hard as previous tons of Fireside. I haven't decided if that's better or worse. Other reviewers have complained about the "lava rock" that is left behind when burning Fireside, but I don't have a problem with that. It makes the burn pot easier to empty. Also, harder residue seems to help keep the air holes open. I find that the softer residue tends to clog the air holes in the burn pot faster, resulting in the stove not burning as well. As far as total residue, I can burn a full ton before I have to empty my ash vac (PowerSmith). FYI, I have an Englander Stove (fireplace insert).
  • By: BobNH
  • Good
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Good burn, good heat, moderate ash. Wood buy again.
  • By: JOHANN
  • American wood fibers
  • February 22, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Seem to burn well in my Englander stove. I use about 1 1/2 bags a day empty ash once a day and clean glass. Overkill I a sure.
  • By: Arnie
  • Fireside Ultra vs Premium Blazer
  • February 21, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Please everyone, write the pellet brand in your reviews. In the title is best, that way we can all benefit from each others experience more quickly and efficiently. To say that Home Depot pellets are bad, is very unfair to Home Depot as I have seen no less than 6-8 brands in our stores this winter alone. Pellets are scarce this winter, and HD and other stores are doing their best to simply acquire pellets needed for their customers, let alone worry about brands. I must commend them on not price gouging as current HD prices are the same or lower than the falls prices. For my review. I like the Firesides, and it seems many others do as well. They burn hot and burn long. The Blazers: Just bought 2 bags to try, they have been burning about 45 minutes to an hour at full feed rate and full air rate. They are burning hot, as I expected as they are 100% softwood, but they are burning instantaneously when they drop into the burn pot. While they may be hot, I would anticipate that they would be expensive to burn due to their quick burn rate. I am trying them to see if they might be good for those very cold days. Also might be good to mix in with a hardwood pellet for that extra heat on a cold day. If I am mistaken about these Blazers, I will update this post with another post in a couple of days. Currently, we are having the best luck with a blended pellet like Fireside or Maine Wood Pellet for high heat, and 100% hardwood like Green Team on warmer days, for a long burn and efficiency. Look for my Nations Choice review soon as I also purchased 10 bags of those to try. We are using a New Englander stove and finding varying air rates gives us more efficient burns on all different types and brand of pellets. Jim Addison
  • By: JimAddison
  • Great pellets at an unbeatable price
  • February 19, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • The Stove Chow pellets I buy every year at Home Depot are GREAT. The price is right and usually available when i need them. I've tried other brands, but Stove Chow is my favorite so far.
  • By: Angel
  • Clean Burning
  • February 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I have bought this product numerous times and have always been pleased. I have also bought at several other retail stores and the quality is not the same.We will continue to purchase this product from Home Depot. Both the stove chow and this type are good products.
  • By: Becky
  • Very High Ash Content
  • February 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • The pellets seem to burn OK and heat content fair, but very high ash and dust and burn faster than the normal premium pellets I use from Maine.
  • By: Chuck
  • Worst Pellets ever
  • February 12, 2014
  • Purchased a ton of the Green Supreme pellets and so sorry we bothered. Usually get the Presto Log pellets which are awesome. Wish I could take these back, no heat, high ash and just plan don't WORK.
  • By: mikejh
  • stove chow
  • February 12, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Hey Home Depot it is mid February, zero on the thermometer, and the stores in Northern CT are all out of pellets. WE NEED PELLETS FOR ANOTHER MONTH AT LEAST!!!!!!Bought another ton of Chows to get me thru April. I notice the new pellets are lighter in color than previous bags. They burn well and don't make much ash, but also don't seem to put out as much heat as before. Prestologs were the best I've had this year, low ash and high heat.
  • By: pmah
  • Heat Resource Oak Pellets
  • February 09, 2014
  • Probably the worst product I have ever purchased for my stove! I have been burning pellets for 14 years. I always look for hardwood pellets and thought that I had found another source. The bags are full of sawdust. Lots of pieces that are over 1.5 inches in length. An over abundance of ash. I am glad that I only got a half ton. I will have to go back to buying a few bags when I try a new kind. These come in an orange bag and are from Arkansas.
  • By: Pelletpro