Product Reviews For Honeywell Wi-Fi Programmable Touchscreen Thermostat + Free App

Overall Rating
4.3/5
  • Doesn't work with all systems
  • June 03, 2014
  • Before you buy a Honeywell WiFi Thermostat, you need to know that they do not work with every heating system.I paid to have the thermostats installed but could not get the remote temperature control to work. I paid again to have a local technician work with Honeywell's Help Desk, only to find out that the subfloor heating system I have does not work with these thermostats. It would have been nice to know before I purchased them that they don't work with every system.
  • By: pseipp
  • So-So
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • Does what it says, however a few important notes - it does not change from heat to cool or vice versa unless you tell it to. This means if you have the temp set to 74, and the system is on heat, and it gets to 80 degrees... it WILL NOT hold the temp of 74. The temp in your house will climb and become unbearable hot. This has been an issue with the fickle spring weather we've had where it has been cold at night and hot during the day, and sometimes vice versa. For the lack of ability to actual hold a temp, thats reason enough in my opinion to avoid this thermostat. Another reason though is that home automation is moving in the direction of a central hub in the house, and the tech that's winning right now (so to speak) is zwave. Honeywell makes a thermostat that has zwave. If you're set on Honeywell, get that one. All in all, it looks nice, touch screen works, the phone app works, but also note that if your internet goes down, or (like what happened last week) if Honeywells servers go down then you cant talk to your thermostat unless you are standing in front of it manually making adjustments.
  • By: tifferz
  • this product is great,
  • April 08, 2014
  • well everything about Home Depot has always been great. The staff go out of their way to help you.
  • By: aceman1946
  • Easy to install and use
  • April 08, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Love the wi-fi feature that lets you controll the temperature remotely from anywhere.
  • By: Jeff
  • Great investment
  • March 20, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • This thermostat took only minutes to install and was not hard to connect to the wireless router to enable the wifi function. Some said that they lost wifi connectivity, but I have not had this problem at all. I love the detailed scheduling that thermostat will accommodate. Great product!
  • By: warmINga
  • A Little Retro, But Nice
  • March 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Compared to more modern designs this thermostat is retro in appearance, but it offers upgraded features at about 1/2 the cost. With the WiFi connection one can change the thermostat settings from anywhere, which is especially convenient when traveling. It is easy to program and works well.
  • By: CDAJNJ
  • Works well once you sort out power issues
  • March 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • The unit works well and allows me to access a vacation home and turn on heat , so the house is warm by the time I arrive . The wifi interface is easy to set up and access via iPad or IPhone. The install was a bit tricky as my previous thermostat had only 2 wires. It required a 24 volt transformer and another 2 wire 18 gauge wire to be run to the thermostat. I found a review with instructions on amazon helpful in regard to this process.
  • By: rich
  • Terrible Customer Service
  • March 14, 2014
  • I have never written a bad review before but I could not let this one go. I bought a WI-FI Honeywell Thermostat for my boyfriend for his birthday. He was really excited and installed it immediately. It worked for a few days but then stopped. We can change it manually on the thermostat, but are no longer able to control it from our phone or computer. We emailed the company twice and never received a response. We then called customer service and was told someone would call us back. They never did. We called two more times and were told the same thing with the same result. It has been over a month now and we can still not get a hold of anyone that can or will help us. I would strongly suggest you not buy a Honeywell product. There is a quality control problem in which you are given two Mac addresses for the thermostat, one printed on a card and one printed on the back of the thermostat. In other words you have someone's Mac address and they have yours so when the other person tries to register your address you can no longer control your thermostat. What was supposed to be a great birthday present for my boyfriend has turned out to be a waste of time and money.
  • By: toast
  • This product is excellent
  • March 11, 2014
  • I like this thermostat. This is awesome. I can change the temperature anywhere as long as i have internet. This is cool when you have the two story house.
  • By: Gwen
  • Good Wi-Fi thermostat
  • February 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Very easy installation and Wi-Fi setup. less than 1 hr. Android App works great. Used it all the time for a week.Now only to look at weather forecast and change program once.
  • By: Daw56