Product Reviews For Emberglow Melbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Propane Gas Fireplace Logs

Overall Rating
3.1/5
  • Great Logs -
  • January 24, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Great logs, just note that they ship from the factory configured for propane use. If you're using with Natural Gas be sure to look at the instructions to make sure you correctly;1) Adjust vent for NG2) Correctly adjust set screw3) Push in selector plate and turn for NG setting (This unit ships with two pilot lights, one configured for propane, the other for NG - when configured for NG you will see some combustion coming from the propane pilot)Also make sure that you cut and move the thermostat that is zip tied to the bottom of the unit, otherwise it will turn down back to the pilot greatly confusing you. . . .
  • By: lemondadeguy
  • Horrible
  • January 11, 2014
  • Pilot light stopped working after a few months use. Then about a year later the whole thing stopped working. Have taken it apart and gotten it "fixed" twice but no luck. It will light but it goes out shortly after. Will not stay on.
  • By: jack
  • Should be taken off the shelf!
  • December 14, 2013
  • My gas man said that he had installed 5 of these and had to send them all back. Leaked gas, could not get to cut off and refused to install these for me. After installing gas products and being licenced for over 30 yrs, I was glad I had a professional tell me before putting something of such back quality in my home.
  • By: Arnie
  • Serves purpose
  • December 10, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Was easy to install and provides a nice realistic fire. It actually provides sufficient heating for our very open living area. If I had a complaint, it would be the temperature thermostat. It is difficult to find a place to put it where it is not affected by the heat and is not very visible. Overall it is a good product and worth the price.
  • By: Spirit
  • Poor support makes for poor purchase.
  • December 05, 2013
  • Took 2 units to get it right. Easy enough to install for a pro. first unit would not stay lit, and would blow the reset switch when it did. returned to store for replacement. new unit works well but had cracked logs. I've been on hold for 30 mins so far to try and get replacement log.. no answer. taking unit back for refund.Do not buy this unit! Way too much hassle to get it right. Poor to no Support
  • By: BobD
  • frustrated buyer
  • November 14, 2013
  • I bought this set, had it installed and worked okay (flame not great unless on high) until one time during a use it shut off as usual with thermostat control. Waited for it to turn back on, but it never did. Went to check and noticed the knob would not move and there was an oily substance coming from it. Took it back and got another. Installed it but could not get pilot to stay lit. Tried to oall customer service 3 times, each time holding for at least 20 mins. Finally got someone who said to clean out the ods hole, she would email me instructions and gave me her extension so I wouldn't'have to hold on phone so long. Email wouldn't download. Tried to call using ext. Not a good #.. Finally got it lit, used it one night, went to use next night, it when out, along with pilot. Couldn't get pilot to stay lit again. Took out and am taking back to store. What a pain. Shouldn't't have to "cross temp wires" (as stated abv) to make work
  • By: Toby
  • DEFECTIVE.
  • November 14, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • A professional installer worked to try to get these logs with the 'universal' installation kit to work for 2 hours. The 'universal' is not. The logs and pilot light kept going out after 5 minutes. He tested the Temperature Sensor, which is supposed to shut off the fire at 230 degrees; it passed 300 degrees each time before quitting. The noxious fumes from the ceramic logs was overwhelming. We never had that problem with other gas logs. We had to disassemble everything, box it back up and carry that heavy box back down stairs for the trip back to Home Depot.
  • By: dixierose325
  • Good product, horrible install instructions
  • November 05, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Would have been a five star rating, but I ran into the same problem that a number of other folks ran into, which involves the flames occasionally shutting off about 5 minutes after you power the set on. The instructions fail to mention cutting the zip tie and uncoiling the copper line on the bottom of the log set. This is the heat sensor which thinks the set is overheating as soon as you turn the logs on. This sensor must be removed outside of the fireplace. With this done, I'm now actually hoping to get some use out of these logs rather than just frustration.
  • By: GasLogUser
  • So Far So GOOD
  • October 21, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Installed my logs on Friday night. Left on for awile , went back to check, no heat at all, just flame. Got up the next morning turned on waited for the heat. No heat. Later that afternoon after being mad all day, deceided to make sure I did all the steps like I was supposed to. Noticed the FLU was open......Shut flu, DUMB, DUMB..... HEAT Wave.....AWESOME....Very satisfied
  • By: Cathay1
  • EmberglowMelbourne Oak 24 in. Vent-Free LP Gas Fireplace Logs
  • January 16, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • The logs work very well, after being on for about 10 minutes, the smell was horrible, and it was hot so we had to turn them off. The flames are blue, would rather have a real look. For being as expensive as they were, I expected a lot more.
  • By: PickyPicky77