Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Great smoker... but a note of caution
  • September 12, 2014
  • Recommended Product

OK.. I think I have already reviewed this smoker. It does a fabulous job..your ribs will impress people. It is well worth the price. Of course if you compare it to the high dollar smokers, I am sure you can find better. But today I wanted to add a note to my previous review... and this is important. Read the instructions!! I have had two of these smokers...and I just ordered a third. The reason that I ordered a new one is because the last one I bought burned a huge hole in my deck and charred itself into oblivion. (We won't even talk about the fate of the pork roast)So why would I recommend it?... and replace it! Because it was my fault. I decided to wash the lava rocks before smoking... they were getting oily and ashy from previous smokes. I had NOT read instructions...and when I put them back, I put them on top of the heating element. DO NOT DO THIS!!

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly

Video & Photos


65 or over,Female
61 out of 61 people found this helpful
more details...
By: fishlegs
  • A Very Good Electric Smoker
  • June 15, 2012
  • Recommended Product

Certainly, charcoal or wood smokers produce the best tasting food. However, if you live in an apartment or somewhere where you cannot use them due to open flame rules (as I now do), this is the smoker to get. If you use wood chips (applewood is superb for everything) you can get a great tasting result.Pros - Easy to use, no constantly checking on coals or temperature. Lava rocks (a great idea) keep the heat constant and uniform. Cooking time, at least in my experience, is much shorter than coal smokers.Can also be used as a small grill. Cleanup is pretty much the same except no charcoal dust to get rid of.Cons - Again, it's electric so it's more of an oven than a true smoker, but with the right application of woodchips you get a good smoked flavor no matter what you are cooking. The grill function works, but you have no height adjustment nor heat adjustment. You have to take a different approach to cooking on it than you would with a charcoal grill.Overall, I really like using this smoker. I have owned charcoal smokers in the past, and this is my second Brinkman Gourmet electric one (I left the first behind a few years ago when I moved - with a cover, this smoker will last for years). I have invited many a friend over for a dinner, and all of them have complimented the food that came out of it. You will enjoy it.

  • DIY


Douglasville, GA, USA
45 to 54,Male
39 out of 39 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gorednknot
  • helpful hints
  • February 20, 2012
  • Recommended Product

i've had this smoker for 14 years. It works very well when outside temps are 65 and over. Keep it in the garage or shed and it won't rust. Covers create moisture conditions like a glass of cold water sweating during the summer. Regarding the wood chips or chunks, I used the chunks dry and wrapped in foil with 3 pin holes punched in the top of the wrap. (The holes must be tiny or oxygen will get in and the wood will burn.) The folded over part is placed on the coils directly. This provides smoke for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. This is long enought to get a good smoked flavor without going overboard. Now here's the bonus--no ashes to clean up and you have just made your own charcoal to use in your grill. How's that for going green? You can use your wood chunks twice! Also purchase a temp guage for the lid. You can't regulate the heat but you can adjust the cook time. Shorten up the time if your running hot (over 225-250) or smoke longer for temps under 190.

  • DIY


North Ridgeville, OH, USA
65 or over,Male
35 out of 35 people found this helpful
more details...
By: clay
  • Excellent smoker
  • November 19, 2011
  • Recommended Product

I have had this smoker for about 4 years,.I smoke about 5-6 times a month or better,.never ever had a probelm,was looking into getting another type of smoker,.the one that looks like a refrigerator,.but the reviews really scared me,.this is easy to use,..excellent turn out every time,I love it and will be getting another one,..the only draw back is, can't really get a bunch of ribs in it without having to cut them up and arrange them like a little puzzle,.but they still come out GREAT!! So for the price and quality,I don't mind buying another for big crowds. You won't be sorry getting this. But don't do like the other guy here did,.you sholud soak your chips for an hour or so,.then WRAP them in foil,.make little boats out of them, poke holes in them with a fork or knife,then put them down by the element and in between the loops, they will smolder very nicely.TIP,.line the drip pan with foil, makes for easy clean up.


28 out of 28 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BrdwyJohnny
  • Greatest general purpose smoker on the market!
  • February 01, 2010
  • Recommended Product

I have owned this smoker for 15 years and bought a second one for the lake. I have converted countless friends and family members to this smoker. People think I am nuts using an electric smoker, but it is great. Here are a few tips to make your smoking experience better:1. Use the hottest tap water you can when filling the pan (boiling water is even better) so your meat never dries out.2. Buy a watering bucket with a long spout so you can add water easily through the trap door on the side.3. Never lift the top lid off to look. Only do this if you are removing the meat.4. Use a long pair of tongs to add wood chunks (not chips) that have been soaking in water a few hours.5. Don't smoke right next to your house unless you want your house to smell like smoke!6. Remember to add extra time if you are smoking in cold temps. or it is heavily loaded. I routinely smoke 6 Boston Butts weighing approx. 60 lbs. for 14 hours. Remember, if in doubt, leave it on.7. If you really want to smoke fish and do it right, you need to learn how to cold smoke and you can't use this smoker for that process.8. Use a dry rub on the meat before you smoke. It really adds a lot of extra flavor. Google "Dry Rubs for BBQ"


Atlanta, GA
20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BigEd
  • Love it
  • February 05, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I've owned the wood fired Brinkmann for years, and while I've smoked some amazing meats on that thing, it's an absolute bear to keep lit, smoking, or regulate the temps at all. The firebox is just too small.But now I've just smoked my first pork shoulder in the new electric and all I can say is, WOW. This has to be 1/10th the work of the old one. You just plug it in, chuck in a piece of wood every hour or two, and you get great results. Thank you for giving me my Saturdays back!My only pieces of advice: get an extra bag of lava rocks. The bag that comes with the unit doesn't have quite enough to cover up the heating coil and the wood tends to burn instead of smoke. You want just enough rock to cover the coils, then you're golden. Also, remember all those warnings about not using an extension cord? It's true using a cord increases resistance and decreases the temp of the coil. So if you find the unit is running a little hot, just use a 3ft 14 gauge cord, it'll drop the temps a bit and slow down your cooking.Happy smoking.


17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CrzyWrld75
  • A very nice product..I love it :0)
  • August 31, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Pros: I love this smoker, because it does a great job:It was easy to assemble.My first Boston Pork Butt turned out to be tender and juicy, The flavor is amazing. I am considering smoking a turkey for Thanksgiving :0)Cons:The product was delivered by UPS in an open broken box, the water pan had a big dent in it and the dome had a whole in it. After calling and reporting the damaged parts, I had the new replacement parts at my doorstep within 10 days.

Video & Photos


Pueblo, CO
15 out of 15 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CountryFairy
  • No-brainer, highly recommend.
  • May 03, 2011
  • Recommended Product

Smoked a 7 lb chicken on the top grill and a rack of ribs on the bottom one. Both were perfectly done and very tasty. Used a dual thermostat that monitored the chicken and the smoker temperatures. It was a windy, cool day ( 65 degrees ) and the smoker held steady at 225 - 230 degrees. Excellent choice for the "set it and forget it" crowd.


Rochester, NY
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Cubey
  • so far it's been a great purchase
  • November 13, 2014
  • Recommended Product

As of today I have cooked 2 8# pork shoulders(at the same time), couple pounds of salmon, pork tenderloin, chicken, spare ribs and up next thanksgiving turkey. Have experimented with various wood types and had to buy a food thermometer to make sure food is cooked thoroughly. Knocking one star off because they really should include a thermometer mounted directly on the smoker. Everything has turned out excellent except for maybe the spate ribs, May be my fault for not letting them cook longer but they looked done. It's been fun trying different meats and is worth the price paid. Make sure to warm it up firstand start with hot water in the bowl.


14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: smokeytroutfinger
  • Great Smoker
  • October 24, 2011

I have had this smoke for a year now. Smoked whole turkeys, brisket, spare ribs, pork loins and butts, all have turned out perfect. I have two very large smokers for large groups, this one is great for just the family or small party. Perfect low temperature for smoking. Just plug it in, fill the water pan, and place the meat in the smoker and monitor the meat temperature. I have had no problems. Temp stays around 250F, just throw a chunk of wood in thru the side door and perfect smoke. The next day, just take the hose and wash it down, inside and out, and put it away.


12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Floridasmoker