Product Reviews For Cub Cadet GTX1054 54 in. 27 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Garden Tractor

Overall Rating
4.4/5
  • All around satisfaction
  • July 17, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This lawn tractor has everything needed for mowing a 4 acre relatively flat area. The 54 inch deck really reduces the time needed to do the job. The lawn mower came out of the crate ready to go with the exception of putting in the gas. the operating instructions were easy to follow. My wife has never been on a riding lawn mower before and she was off and running with a 2 minute tutorial. Seems to be a solidly built mower and a great value for this class of mower.
  • By: FirstTimeRider
  • broken belt
  • July 13, 2012
  • I am very disappointed because the tractor only 24.5 hrs on it and the belt broke. I went to the place where I purchased the tractor to get a new belt. the place I purchased it does not stock the belt so I had to go to a dealer to purchase the belt. I the belt cost me $70.00 dollars. I put the belt on and the same thing happened the belt broke. Now I have to wait to have a service man come look at it. In the mean time my grass needs cut so I have to wait to get it looked at
  • By: mike
  • Good Strong Garden Tractor but mine has issues.
  • June 07, 2012
  • Verified Purchase
  • Cuts Grass well, has good traction, powerful engine does not bog down on heavy grass. Other nice features as well. Unfortunately mine has issues like a dried out cracking deck handle grip, a missing bumper cap , the deck belt vibrating wildly & I had to charge the battery for a few hours to get it to start. I thinks its because its an old build date and laying around a year but I really can't say it's a fault of the tractor.
  • By: Ronsy
  • GREAT TRACTOR
  • May 29, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • GREAT TRACTOR NO PROBLEM CUTTING 3.8 ACER, RUNNS GREAT NO OVER HEATING GOOD ON HILLS AND UNEVEN SURFACES.
  • By: RICH
  • Good mower for the price
  • May 22, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This Cub Cadet tractor does a great job mowing our 3 1/2 acres. It is easy to start, engine is much quieter than our previous mower, and seems to get good gas mileage.
  • By: John
  • Mows like a Pro
  • May 21, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • We purchased the SLTX 1054 after researching different brands. We have approx 7 acres that I mow and needed something heavy-duty enough to handle the cutting plus reducing the mowing times. This model brought down the cutting time from a full day to 2.5 hours. ALso the 1054 handles the hillside area without slippage. The downside is the mowing deck belt, which has lasted only 26 hours of use.
  • By: Rich
  • Power house Mower
  • May 05, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • I owned this model cubby for four years bought new at lowes. Had a very hilly yard about an acre of lawn about half way through the hydro pump would start to whine and hesitate . I further investigated to find the pump/trans on this mower is the same as some models have with a 38" cut this mower is heavy. the motor is powerful and never bogged no matter how deep the grass is they should really beef up the trans if they did this mower would work and last for ever.
  • By: Risk
  • Great Tractor So Far
  • May 02, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • The tractor has been great so far, not a single issue. It has plenty of power to run a 54 inch deck and climb fairly steep inclines while mowing. I have used it with and without the bagger and had no problems. I would be cautious when reading reviews on this tractor, I would suspect that most of the issues users have with this tractor are user error or unrealistic expectations.
  • By: TimS
  • Does what it should while looking good.
  • March 19, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • Retired my Cub 1863 after 18 years of faithfull service and bought this last year. Mows 5 acres, and have had no problems. I keep it well maintained with grease and oil changes which should help it last a long time. Would have liked to have seen ball bearings on the front wheel spindles though.
  • By: kevin12
  • Excellent product
  • November 29, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Cuts well. Comfortable seating and extra amenities I didn't have on my John Deere mower...cup holder...arm rests...step platform over the mowing deck. I hope it lasts as long as my JD did.
  • By: Debbie