No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • basic generator
  • February 14, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I bought this generator as a emergency backup for power outages at my house. it is big enough to keep my furnace and refrigerators on line. that will keep my pipe from freezing, etc. starts easily and is not too noisy. I am happy with this unit.

  • DIY

addm

Massachusetts, USA
45 to 54,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: addm
  • solid generator
  • January 04, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Home Depot had the best price on this generator. Delivery was quick, wheel kit easy to install, very well built and relatively quiet. Started on the first pull when we went to test it. Bought this for power outage, big enough for furnace motor, fridge and a few lights. Hopefully we'll never have to use it!

njman

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: njman
  • 3250 Works Well, But Not Customer Service
  • December 27, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I bought the unit at HD, assembled it 2 months later, and tried to start it 9 months later. It would start but would not light up a desk lamp. I measured less than 1 volt output. Since it was 11 months since I bought it, the unit was still under the full 1 year warranty, so I let the local approved shop fix it. No charge right? Nope, Generac refused to cover the $130 labor charge, stating is was damaged in shipping. I still had the box, and it was in PERFECT condition. As an Engineer specializing in Failure Analysis, I went into the shop and the mechanics showed me where a substantial force had crushed in the black cover at the generator end, and the sharp edge of the cover jumped the recess it was seated in and shorted out most of the wires going to the Control Pannel. With no damage to the box and foam packing, it must have been damaged at the factory, BEFORE it was boxed.The people at customer service insisted it was damaged in shipping. I sent a 3 page report with pictures of all parts, and they did not change their opinion. Even as I elevated it up to bosses of bosses, the answer was the same " damaged in shipping due to unknown reason". These people sounded like cheerleaders for a high school team, and had no idea what they were talking about. I finally said I will see you in small claims court, and I got a call the next day saying they would cover the labor cost. Finally, Generac played (or were) dumb until I threatened to go to court. That's a failure for Customer Service.

Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight Cons: poor customer service
  • DIY

MecEngineer

Delaware
55 to 64,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MecEngineer
  • Great power for the price.
  • November 06, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

For the price, it is a great item. Handled two 1500 watt heaters during a power outage with no trouble. Can run my well pump and sump pump. The only trouble I have had with it after over 48 hours of use, was a couple of nuts fell off from the vibrations, and the spark arrestor screen burnt up.

Moto

Reading, PA, USA
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Moto
  • GP3250 Watt Portable Generator
  • March 16, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Had to purchase a special funnel to put in the oil.It only cost $1.49. This should be included with the generator. The machine started on the first pull. I used it right away with an electric chain saw. It performed great. I plan to install a transfer switch to use during power outages to operate lights, refrigerator, and TV.

  • Pro
  • DIY

brownie

Santa Fe, NM, USA
65 or over,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: brownie
  • Generac 3250 DON'T BE MISLEAD LIKE ME
  • October 22, 2015

This is a pretty nice generator overall, but don't be misled. It states that it is a 3250 watt generator but the breakers are 14 amp. Each outlet on the double receptacle can handle 14 amps and half the wattage capacity, or1625 watts. In other words, the total wattage is 3250 for both sides of the receptacle COMBINED. The breaker which is rated at 14 amps is also used for the 220 outlet. So if you are trying to power something with 220 volts, it will work just fine as long as it does not exceed the 14 amp rating. I ran my miter saw with a short extension cord and it tripped the breaker. When I tried it again it was fine so the surge mode from the startup must be very close to the 14 amps and that will automatically trip the breaker as a safety mechanism. As for this unit being quieter than most I would have to disagree. From what I understand this unit Is manufactured overseas, more than likely China. Some of Generac larger units are built in the United States. This particular generator is more or less a generic brand with a Generac name tag on it. Bottom line, it is a nice generator that starts up and runs fine so far, but just be certain that you do not intend to run anything with high amperage load or high startup amperage. I think it was misrepresented because I expected the full wattage accessibility to be across each outlet. The low 14 amp Breaker is more than likely designed to add to the longevity of the unit so it is not being overloaded. Not sure if it is going to be able to do the job, but time will tell. Do your research

Bri65

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bri65
  • awesome
  • July 03, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

ordered this for a family reunion camping trip, worked great! it powered my camper with ac, tv, dvd. and sub and speaker system and running a 500 watt outside light too. what more could you ask for.

  • Pro

superspirit

Roswell, NM, USA
45 to 54,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: superspirit
  • First one that I've had and its GREAT!
  • January 31, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Its relatively compact, easy to move around with the mounted wheels, its got the power that I'll need during an outage, its easy to start and I was surprised about the price!!!

  • DIY

Brian

Henderson
45 to 54,Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Brian
  • gp 3250 works for me
  • June 16, 2012
  • Recommended Product

i have no issues with this gen it runs a skill saw that pulls 10 amps or my right angle drill w/3'' bit no breaker trip no problems my drill pulls 11.5 amps if it will run it ..its a pretty good gen i can only run 1 power tool at a time but i expected that ..for its size

  • Pro

rwtaylor

indy
35 to 44,Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: rwtaylor
  • Product performed as advertized
  • December 11, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This is the second GP3250-Watt Portable Generator I bought. I bought one the day before "Sandy" and one a week or so after. 3250 watts was just not a enough after being without power for almost a week. I could not find anything with higher watts before the storm. The system worked as promised; it was very reliable, easy to assemble and run. The second generator remains un opened just waiting for the next big storm. I would prefer I never have to use another generator; It is good knowing I have two high quality ones if I need them.

Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
  • Pro

Remdoc

Pennsylvania, USA
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Remdoc