Product Reviews For Black & Decker EasyEdge Powered Paint Edger

Overall Rating
2.0/5
  • Easy to use
  • December 18, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • After reading the previous reviews we were kinda scared to buy this product. We took a chance and bought the edger at our local home depot. Not needing to tape was worth the price of the edger. We used it without any problems what so ever around our bathroom next to the ceiling. We need to paint the ceiling edges still so we'll see how well the edgers "edges" meet up. So far so good and works just like it should. We kept the paint flow on a low setting and had no run off and the tubes sucked up paint just fine. We did wash and reuse the edge attatchments. Can't see why others had such a problem. My only worry is the edges meeting on the wall and ceiling. I'll write back when were done and say how true the edge is.
  • By: Notapro
  • The products features made its use very difficult. The syringe leaked paint around the hub and dripped paint every where
  • December 18, 2012
  • Verified Purchase
  • This product did not perform as expected. It was difficult to load, replace paint plunger, difficult to clean up. Customer service and shipping were fine.
  • By: raymaker
  • No straight lines, just drips paint
  • December 04, 2012
  • Verified Purchase
  • I was excited to tackle my dining room painting project before the holidays, and looked forward to saving hours of prep work, but all I got from the Black&Decker EasyEdger was runs of paint, a big mess and a job that took me twice as long. The hassle of cleaning it up so that I return it to the store was too much and it quickly went into the garbage.First of all, there was no suction with the tube and I could only fill the tube 1/4 full and as soon as I lifted it up, paint was running out of the syringe before I could even load the cartridge. I thought I must have filled it incorrectly, so I had my husband try and even tried a second syringe and neither worked.I decided to push forward, thinking I had to have done something wrong. I managed to get half the syringe full and load it into the holder after several tries. Before I could even turn-it on (starting at the lowest setting), painting was just oozing out of the pad and making runs on to the wall and all over my drop cloth.At this point, there was excess paint on the wall that had to be smoothed out, plenty on my hands, and enough on my drop cloth that this tool quickly went into the garbage so that I could get on with my project.This is an absolute waste of money. At least I salvaged the batteries to put into my tv remote.
  • By: ChiTownGirl
  • Great Idea, If Only It Would Work...
  • December 02, 2012
  • I purchased this item a couple of weeks ago to speed up a large paint job in my home. The first thing I discovered was that the syringes would not fill with paint. They worked fine with water, but not paint, at least the paint that I was using (a top quality, name brand latex paint). I was barely able to fill the syringe to a fifth of its capacity. Once I managed to get paint to flow, the flow was erratic.
  • By: Jack
  • Definitely Not Worth The Expenditure
  • November 23, 2012
  • Verified Purchase
  • I'd have given this product 0 stars had it been possible. I hardly know where to begin. Filling the paint tube is comparable to trying to suck a golf ball through a garden hose. Took many attempts each time and had to almost completely immerse the fill tube in the paint can to get any kind of positive results. Then, the initial applicator pad provided with the edger was defective (it took two load attempts to figure this out). It appeared to lock into the edger, but when you inserted the paint tube and released the spring, the pad popped out and spewed paint everywhere it wasn't supposed to be. The first time I attributed to user error, so after a 20 minute cleanup of the (yet unused) edger and surrounding area, I attempted another load,after ensuring (I thought) that the pad was positively locked in the edger. Same basic result, although not quite as messy as I didn't let the spring fully engage the paint tube this time. So, yet another cleanup of paint from the inner areas of the edger. Inserted a different paint pad into the unit and was able to load the edger on the third try. Trying to set the flow rate is an art form I am apparently not particularly good at. I guess artists and engineers don't mix well. After realizing that one shouldn't attempt this adjustment on an actual edge,I was able to achieve satisfactory results after painting a goodly portion of the wall. The coverage when I was able to actually start edging was adequate, though not outstanding by any stretch of the imagination, One still needed to be ready with the trusty trim brush to feather everything in. When I attempted to lay the unit down to move the drop cloth to a different area, paint leaked profusely out of the rear of the paint tube, into the innards of the edger and all over the drop cloth. Of course, I hadn't expected this, so I blindly reached for the edger and got a handful of paint which I then proceeded to transfer to the exterior of the edger. Another stop, another 20 minute cleanup. I reasoned that since the original pad was defective, maybe the paint tube was also, so I tried the second one supplied with the unit. See above for the tribulations of getting it fully loaded. As it turned out, it made no difference.That one leaked from the rear of the paint tube as well. So after more than two hours invested in trying to get this thing to work and after only edging approximately ten linear feet of the room, I gave up in disgust and returned to the old tried and true method for cutting in the edges before rolling. I gained nothing other than a whole lot of frustration. Your mileage may vary and I truly hope you have better luck should you decide you wish it try it anyway. If you do, give me a shout. I'll gladly send you the accessory kit I purchased with the unit that was never used or opened.
  • By: Jack
  • AWFUL, DO NOT BUY
  • November 20, 2012
  • I have painted may home projects and am not a complete novice. Didn’t even get a chance to use it. The paint tube, with a plunger mechanism, that is inserted into the paint can would not suck out any paint, and even had a hard time sucking water. This was a complete waste of my time.
  • By: PaintMyHome
  • Nice idea, bad execution
  • November 16, 2012
  • Verified Purchase
  • It is a convenient device, with some learning curve to limit the amount of paint applied to get a consistent coating without bleeding. Once I got the hang of it, I was able to get a decent 2-coat coverage. But the second time i went to use it, it did not work. And filling the syringe was not very effective...
  • By: jdjd
  • saves time!!! no taping needed!!!
  • November 15, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • I HATE taping and the fact that this product eliminated this step is awesome. I like that you are able to adjust the flow of paint to how fast you are moving the edger along the surface. After reading other reviews I didn't have any issues refilling the paint. Slowly suction some up then flip it and push out the air and then fill up some more. This product is also great to make quick work out edging around light switches and outlets. I preferred to still take the covers off, but you can quickly paint around these areas. Oh and clean up... NONE!!! LOVED THAT! Just toss the one time use brush & paint dispenser.
  • By: CSURAM
  • Completely useless
  • November 13, 2012
  • I'm really surprised that anyone got this to work. It's basically a big hypodermic needle with a paint pad at the end.I couldn't get more than 1/4 of the paint tube to fill with standard latex trim paint. The air would just slip past the plunger and fill the tube with air instead of paint.After placing the paint tube into the gun, you release a spring loaded plunger. Then you are supposed to meter the paint out by pulling the trigger. instead, paint immediately started to saturate the pad and form a blob on the applicator..In conclusion, this is a complete waste of time.
  • By: Eric35
  • Worst product ever!!!!
  • November 13, 2012
  • If you want dripping paint on your hands, floor, walls etc. then buy this edger. I also had high hopes, as I hate taping. But honestly, this thing was horrible. I have painted many rooms in my lifetime, so I understand how paint works. The suction is lousy in this thing, so it constantly drips paint. Trying to get just the right amount of paint out is a challenge. Then certain angles are a challenge. Then it works for about 2 feet and the batteries don't seem to connect with it, so it shudders and jumps. What a waste of money and time. I'm cleaning mine now so Home Depot can have it back. Good concept, but has a long way to go before it is marketable.
  • By: haha0002