Product Reviews For General Tools EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit

Overall Rating
3.1/5
  • Cheap, not inexpensive
  • May 31, 2014
  • This jig will not work on thicknesses greater than 2", and the way it's designed, you can't adjust where the hole starts, so it always turns out too shallow. The screws the kit comes with are too short, but longer ones split the pocket open due to the shallowness. The thing also spits out metal shavings with each hole, which means each home is slowly destroying the jig. Save the aggravation, spend a couple of extra bucks, and buy a better one. I'm returning mine.
  • By: Don01001100
  • Worst Tool Ever
  • April 12, 2014
  • This tool while being very easy to use is built poorly and uses cheap materials. I purchased one as a cheaper alternative to a Kreg but it didn't even last through the 16 holes I needed to drill, the tube of harder metal became dislodged from the aluminum making one hole unusable. The drill bit was dull so it took extra time to drill each hole. I returned it and bought a Kreg which was a lot more expensive but well worth the extra cost.Do not waste your time, money, or materials on this cheap tool, as a former construction worker and handy-woman I've dealt with a lot of tools and this is by far the most disappointing purchase I've ever made.
  • By: Jade
  • Too shallow to be of use
  • March 09, 2014
  • I must agree with the naysayers. The pocket holes are much too shallow for all but one inch wood sizes. The comparably priced Kreg jig is adjustable and a much better value. Home Depot is, however, very good about returns and exchanges. Phew!
  • By: Mike
  • Expensive cheep tool
  • December 01, 2013
  • I wish I had read the reviews before I bought it. The holes for the guide are sloppy before you start using it and then after it shaves out the sides it is worse. Also the 1 ¼ inch screws that it says it comes with are really 1 inch. I was very disappointed.
  • By: dissatisified
  • dont buy!
  • August 06, 2013
  • I was trying to drill a 2x6 and 2x4 for a bed and the angle is way to shallow. doesn't leave enough wood for the screw to bite. couldn't even get the head of the screw all the way in the pocket without the little bit of board left breaking. metal shavings were coming out of the jig after awhile im sure it would start to get sloppy and lose precision. do yourself a favor and just buy the kreg jig even though it cost a little more it is well worth it.
  • By: zach
  • Great tool at a great price
  • July 23, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This is everything that was advertised and then someA better value will be real hard to find anywhereGreat job HOME DEPOT.
  • By: strawman
  • It works well but lacks awesomeness
  • July 10, 2013
  • I was in the market for a pocket hole jig and of course saw the Kreg and it's high price. I immediately started looking for a cheaper alternative. This was one of the options. In short I bought it and ended up returning it because it was a little janky. They cut corners to make a cheap alternative to the high-price one mentioned above. The clamping mechanism is no bueno. Nothing beats an actual clamp. The wing-nut thumb-screw just doesn't hold.It'll help you get the holes you want but I would NOT recommend this for lots of holes. You'll go nuts in frustration. Spend the $ on the higher price one, keep your sanity, and do pro pocket holes.
  • By: Touchy79
  • great product for the price
  • July 02, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • great product for the price. Well constructed, and easy to use. I was surprised at the quality considering the price I paid. I would recommend buying.
  • By: JackC92a
  • great shop addition
  • January 16, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • this is the tool for perfect cabinet frames. it's easy to set up, very accurate, & you have a professional look when finished. Remember the $60 bucks you saved, compared to the competition, will buy another tool. Awesome investment
  • By: tikkakid
  • It works ok
  • September 18, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • It’s a descent tool for the money. No trills model but works pretty good and is easy to use. Set up is a breeze. Just check screw length on some test wood first.
  • By: lmay2024