Product Reviews For LOCKiT! Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Overall Rating
4.5/5
  • Protecting a child's life.
  • June 24, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Easy to install n safe for children who don't know how to swim well yet but also makes you feel you can be doing other things n children are safe from swimming pool .
  • By: Iris
  • Doesn't fit
  • June 23, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • I would have loved to use this lock, but it doesn't fit either of my doors. It needs latch options for doors with a deeper jamb.
  • By: fatuesday
  • Does not work on Vinyl Doors
  • June 21, 2014
  • This product did not install at all. This should have a large disclaimer saying it works great for wood windows, but very poorly on vinyl. The spacers, which I needed to use due to my jamb length, were a joke (cheap plastic, which bent when any torque was applied to the screws). The bracket made the door unable to close, until I bent it with a hammer. The lock part was unable to attach to my sliding door at all, which has a steel core behind the vinyl. I ended up having to use washers for the spacers, and double stick tape to attach the lock to the door itself, which I am lucky I had at home already. For a $30 product, I needed to improvise to get it to even work, which is aggravating when you spend so much. Also, with the double stick tape, it does not provide any real security. We mainly bought this as a child lock, so it works for this purpose, but I would not trust it against a burglar.Also, more companies need to learn from Ikea. Diagrams speak louder then paragraphs of words, but a small picture of a woman holding the unit against the door is not even close to sufficient. Simple diagrams are very helpful, and should be used more often instead of small black and white photos.
  • By: FarmerDan
  • Great Product
  • June 21, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • The security device was relatively easy to assemble & install, feel much at ease since the installation, would recommend to others.
  • By: Girl
  • Great security solution for sliding glass doors.
  • June 14, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Our new home has five (5) sliding glass doors and we needed to secure all of them. While looking for an optimal solution, we placed cut pieces of PVC pipe in the track ways - clumsy to use, but effective. When we installed the Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Locks, we had security that was effective and easy to use. These are a great way to get security at a reasonable cost. Highly recommend these locks!
  • By: Daiv
  • Does not replace handle/regular lock
  • June 06, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Our neighbor has this and it's very nice. Our current hand/lock needs to be replaced and I was hoping this fit there--not the case. It is intended to be installed above it. It would have fit our door with one of the 2 brackets and the plastic spacer they provide--I just chose to return it. The plastic burglar bars I have that fold up & down seems to do the same thing.
  • By: HTurn
  • Easy to use sliding glass door lock.
  • May 27, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • We like this lock. Easy to install. Looks good and is very simple to use. It adds to the security of our home.
  • By: Rich
  • Keeps the Ninja In the House
  • May 21, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • My two year figured out the old lock and began to go outside by himself, the lock is still functional just not child proof. This item works great, now this lock is out of his reach and we don't have to worry about a silent escape. It was easy to install took about 45 minutes, but I worked slowly and deliberately. I was concerned about stripping out the screws with a drill, so I used a hand screw driver to finish the tightening. At the recommendation of the other reviewers, and after seeing the screws that were provided, I purchased my own from the hardware store, cost me about $0.50. I used a hammer to tap the bracket after I had screwed it in to get a little better alignment and to minimize rubbing with the door, the adjustment was minimal. There is no noticeable compromise of the weather stripping seal, even though there has to be at least some but extremely minor. The lock also provides me with some additional security that I have wanted on the door since we bought the house. This was the only item that would work for my set up as the door with the lock tracks on the outside of the fixed door eliminating all the other options.
  • By: NinjasDad
  • Excellent product, easy to install
  • March 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I needed something to make my sliding glass door more secure because of recent break-ins in the neighborhood. This was definitely a good choice. Easy to install with a drill and screwdriver. It took a little over five minutes and my family and I now feel much safer. There's not much you can do to prevent the thief's from breaking the door, but this is the next best thing.
  • By: Brucealan
  • Decent Solution
  • March 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This lock is relatively easy to install, if not quite as simple as they might make it sound. Once on, it mostly lets the door slide, although both doors I put this on were definitely snug against the bracket. It may displace the door just enough to leave slight gaps in the weather stripping, depending on your configuration, but for me both doors are OK.No idea if it will stop an intruder; as far as I know no professional burglars have tried to get in, so I don't know their success rate!
  • By: BMoreE