No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • Does not work on Vinyl Doors
  • June 21, 2014

This product did not install at all. This should have a large disclaimer saying it works great for wood windows, but very poorly on vinyl. The spacers, which I needed to use due to my jamb length, were a joke (cheap plastic, which bent when any torque was applied to the screws). The bracket made the door unable to close, until I bent it with a hammer. The lock part was unable to attach to my sliding door at all, which has a steel core behind the vinyl. I ended up having to use washers for the spacers, and double stick tape to attach the lock to the door itself, which I am lucky I had at home already. For a $30 product, I needed to improvise to get it to even work, which is aggravating when you spend so much. Also, with the double stick tape, it does not provide any real security. We mainly bought this as a child lock, so it works for this purpose, but I would not trust it against a burglar.Also, more companies need to learn from Ikea. Diagrams speak louder then paragraphs of words, but a small picture of a woman holding the unit against the door is not even close to sufficient. Simple diagrams are very helpful, and should be used more often instead of small black and white photos.

Pros: Durable, Sturdy Cons: Difficult to Install, poor instructions, does not work on some doors

Video & Photos

  • DIY

FarmerDan

Waterford, MI
25 to 34,Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FarmerDan
  • Great replacement lock!
  • May 15, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The lock on my sliding glass door went bad and I was told due to the age of the door I needed to replace the entire door. I was able to remove the existing lock and replace it with LOCKiT. The ONLY complaint I would have is the color of it. I would have liked it to be completely white to match my door. But it still looks great even with the small amount of black in it. In my opinion, it works better that the old lock and is way more secure.

Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail Cons: color, need more color options

Video & Photos

  • DIY

IRISHBULL

Chicago, IL, USA
35 to 44,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: IRISHBULL
  • Good Lock
  • January 28, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Overall this is a good product and worked fine on my sliding back door. The lock itself is great, but I highly advise you to open the products package and get an idea of the hardware sizes and counts. (Screws) Replace those with quality screws, I twisted the heads off 3 of them even with a reasonable pilot hole.

Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design Cons: instructions are not very clear.
  • DIY

f3hunter

California, USA
45 to 54
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: f3hunter
  • Double Bolt Sliding Door Lock
  • August 26, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I cannot believe how many people have commented on how good this lock is and that they didn't already know about it. This is the not the first one of these I have purchased or recommended to people. The value for money is excellent, they are easy to install (and no you won't break the glass in the door). The only way anyone is getting through your sliding glass door with one of these locks on it is if they smash the glass. This lock prevents the door being lifted out of the track. I buy properties all the time and its the first thing I buy if there is a glass sliding door. I watched a youtube video and put them in myself and if I can do it........

Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design Cons: none
  • DIY

LizziLou007

Kissimmee, Florida
55 to 64,Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LizziLou007
  • OK product, not as "universal as advertised.
  • January 03, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

It built ok, and looks ok, but it does not fit as described on every door. It took some imagination and it is not as discreet as I would like.

DYIbry

Oklahoma
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DYIbry
  • GREAT but.... didn't exactly fit our door
  • November 18, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I LOVE this lock & would have given it 5 stars, but my husband had some installation problems.As another reviewer stated, the installation instructions were not detailed enough. In addition, another reviewer stated it didn't fit all doors and we found that to be true in our case. Our door frame was too deep so my husband had to create his own spacer. That is why the installation took so long, otherwise, it would have been a piece of cake.As far as function goes, it is very easy to lock & unlock! The lock that came with the door was flimsy & had been repaired several times & I don't think it provided much security so this is SO much better than the old one!

Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made

Caligrace

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Caligrace
  • Best lock for sliding glass doors
  • August 06, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This is one of the best locks for sliding glass doors ever. The only caution is to make sure the screw holes DO NOT go over the glass inside the frame. If you nick the glass when drilling you will shatter the glass.

Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Functional, Well Made
  • DIY

gthor

Dunedin, FL, USA
45 to 54,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gthor
  • LOVE THIS LOCK
  • January 14, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This is by far the best sliding door lock. It prevents burglers from lifting door off to get in. Also child proof. I live alone and feel very safe now with this lock installed.

Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design

vixx

Colorado, USA
65 or over,Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: vixx
  • Doesn't fit
  • June 22, 2014
  • Verified Purchase

I would have loved to use this lock, but it doesn't fit either of my doors. It needs latch options for doors with a deeper jamb.

Cons: needs diagrams, needs more latch options

fatuesday

California, USA
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: fatuesday
  • Great
  • January 22, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Had an old Pella slidding glass door and the lock stripped out and would no longer lock. Pella's solution was to replace the door. I called around and everyone said it could not be fixed. The door is fine so I only needed a way to lock it. This did the trick and very well at that. Very good lock.

Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
  • DIY

PMCodyDog

Kansas City
35 to 44,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PMCodyDog