Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Smarter Tools9500EB Watt Portable Generator with Electric Start
  • December 04, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased this item shortly before Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast. Because of high demand, I didnt receive it until Nov 29th. It was worth the wait. It was simple to assemble and started right up after checking all the connections. It provides plenty of power for my house in case of a power outage. I had one issue of some damage during shipping but that has been easily been taken care of by their customer support. It also was on sale for a great price.

Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation Cons: a little bulky
  • DIY

JohnJ

New York
55 to 64,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JohnJ
  • love the 9500
  • November 14, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I got lucky and found this smarter tools 9500 when it was on sale online. Took it longer than anticipated to get here, but that isn't the generators fault. Prep time to start time was a little lengthy, but the value of the generator for the wattage it puts out is incredible. She started on the 2nd turn of the key and purred like a kitten. The motor ran smooth and didn't skip a beat. If you have a power outage, THIS is the generator to get

Pros: Lots of Features, lots and lots of electricity Cons: can't find the spark plug
  • DIY

eric

camden, maine
25 to 34,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: eric
  • Outstanding purchase during a great sale before SANDY
  • November 20, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

THis was a great purchase at a $350 saving just before Sandy. A 9500W unit was much bigger than the local area box stores had and was less expensive than them as well. Out of the box and running in 30 minutes. HD also had a great package with the 25' power cord, oil, cover, 6 way pigtail and fuel stabilizer for only $125. Another good deal.

Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
  • DIY

Mike

Burke, VA, USA
55 to 64,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Great generator
  • November 11, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I got lucky and got this about a week after Sandy hit, because I still didn't have power. I followed the instructions and the unit fired right up. One thing I like about this generator is that it was very affordable, especially since the motor is a Honda clone which I only discovered by watch Smarter Tool's video on youtube. I'm going to have this fully setup with a interlock and generator shelter so that I'm ready for the next big storm.

  • DIY

easye

Huntington, NY, USA
35 to 44,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: easye
  • Good machine for the price
  • January 30, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Definitely NOT as quiet as a Honda, despite comparable decibel ratings. One wheel bracket is off-center however it still works. Handles are not great, as reviewed by others, however they work OK, not a big concern.This generator started up easily the very first time, has run smoothly, consistently, with good clean power in temps down to 5F so far. Excellent features and terrific value for price paid.

Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy

JSK814

Pennsylvania, USA
55 to 64,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JSK814
  • Compact, quiet generator
  • November 13, 2012
  • Recommended Product

Arrived damaged during shipping (gas tank crushed) but the cutomer service folks at the generator company were very friendly and helpful, and had a new gas tank shipped within a week. I've only used for a couple hours thus far, but the generator starts right up every time, it runs great, and is fairly quiet for one this size. Easy assembly, plenty of power with lots of ourput options. So far, it seems to be a solid generator.

Pros: Compact, fairly quiet for a portable generator Cons: heavy unit but solid wheels.
  • DIY

NickinNH

Derry, NH
45 to 54,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NickinNH
  • can't beat it for the price
  • January 25, 2013
  • Recommended Product

MY POWER WENT OUT DURING SANDY. I INSTALLED A TRANSFER SWITCH. PLUG IN THE GENERATOR AND GUESS WHAT?. I HAD POWER MY WIFE THINKS I'M THE GREATEST. IT'S NICE TO KNOW THAT WHEN YOUR POWER GOES OUT. YOU CAN PLUG IN YOUR GENERATOR AND LIFE IS BACK TO THE NORM. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GENERATOR THANKS HD

  • Pro

BILLY

Brick, NJ, USA
55 to 64,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BILLY
  • Outstanding for the price
  • December 12, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Hooked the generator to a 30 amp breaker and the it ran everything in the house with out any issues (ran for only 20 min). Great for the price so far. Thank you Home Depot for supporting the military.

Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
  • DIY

Dave

Hbg, PA
45 to 54,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dave
  • Just received
  • April 30, 2013
  • Recommended Product

So... if you are reading this to find out how it powered my home.. stop. I just received it yesterday. I am letting you know the set up and ease starting. First, this weighs 190#. So, if you are not a big strong person get some help assembling the generator. Put the wheels on and the handle bars in like 10 minutes. The battery was already in the right position and installed except for the wires. Once this was done, installed the included oil and then put a little gas in. Opened the fuel line and turned the ignition switch... first turn and it started right up. Left on for about 30 min. No problems. Noise level.. like that of a riding mower. Not horrible. Didnt freak out my dogs either. Very easy to use. And actually easy to move once the wheels were on and the handles. Like I said, havent had to use for an outtage... so cannot rate on performance. BUT the assembly and ease of start up right out of the box. Cant beat and the price was great. 20% discount and free shipping. Will have to rate perfomance later.

Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation

VANBSU1


3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: VANBSU1
  • customer service is great and product runs great
  • November 22, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

has all the features of the well known ones with out the big price

Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions
  • DIY

boarshead


35 to 44,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: boarshead