Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • The best A19 60w equivalent LED bulb for up-lighting fixture use
  • December 04, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I had two new 9 lamp up-lit white glass shade chandeliers for a high ceiling foyer area to decide LED bulbs for. I prefer the clean white light of the 5000 k "daylight" color temp bulbs....time to get rid of the old yellow 2700k lights. I decided to sample the LED bulb competition. I don't have a dimmer so I didn't try out that feature of the bulbs.In the 5000w Daylight flavor, I brought home the Phillips 60w, the Cree 60w, and a Sylvania 60w from another big box store to try out and compare. I read reviews, did my homework on the details, and watched youtube reviews that measured & dissected the Phillips & Cree bulbs down to their internal components. For an up-lighting fixture application, most of the current generation of A19 LED 60w bulbs have their weakest light output in the upward direction. I thought the Phillips A19 60w LED bulb did the best job of directing a decent part of the light up toward the ceiling and out in all directions. The Cree A19 bulb outputs slightly less light at 800 Lumens (30 fewer Lumens than the 830 Lumen Phillips) and uses a LED tower of emitters... all pointing outward that omits throwing light out the very top of the bulb, actually showing a dark unlit circle on top of the Cree bulb the size of a quarter when lit. The brighter Phillips A19 LED bulb design is flat on top & uses a white translucent reflector disc there to help direct light outward and down...but still allowing light to pass through in the upward direction. Even the Sylvania A19 60w LED bulb, whose design actually parked several LED emitters at the top of the bulb didn't light the ceiling as much as the Phillips bulb. The Phillips bulb also looked more diffused & normal white when lighted than did the other A19 LED bulb designs from Cree & Sylvania. In use, the Phillips bulb body felt the coolest of the bulbs I compared...the Cree heatsink felt the hottest.If you need an LED bulb for an up-lighting fixture or a table lamp, I'd recommend the Phillips 60w Daylight (5000k) A19 LED bulb as the best of the bunch.

Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design Cons: pricey
  • DIY

TechBuck

East Bay Area, Northern California
55 to 64,Male
34 out of 34 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TechBuck
  • Great Product and NO radio noise!
  • January 22, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Finally, the perfect lamp from Philips! The lamp is highly efficient, has great neutral color rendition at 5000K and even lumen distribution. To top it all off, this lamp does NOT generate radio interference as other brands do. I bought six of these so far and intend to buy many more. Oh, did I mention, the lamp emits very little heat, another Bravo Zulu for switching regulator technology at the hand of Philips.

Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, true "daylight" 5000k color temperature., generates no radio noise Cons: none as of 30 days!
  • Pro

djlloyd

Charleston, SC, USA
55 to 64,Male
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: djlloyd
  • Best Investment you can ever make!
  • January 05, 2014
  • Recommended Product

This daylight 5000k is very bright which makes my home lively. The total cost per bulb including purchase and usage over the manufacture estimates is $1.58 per year per bulb.

Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, no noise
  • DIY

Alvin

Elmont, NY
45 to 54,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Alvin
  • execellent light
  • January 31, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I bought this bulb to replace an older Philips trilobe bulb. The old bulb had great light, but looked kind of funky when off due to its yellow sides. I'll move it to a different fixture.The new bulb looks great on and off. The light color is great. The bulb is placed in a stair well where there are near walls on three sides. The light spread is very even with no light or dark spots. I haven't tried a dimmer, but all of the other Philips bulbs work without flicker or noise.

Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
  • DIY

Gary

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Gary
  • Good light. Poor packaging.
  • January 28, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I have no complaints with the light (except LED are still pricey) but the packaging was poor. The lights were resting on the wall of the shipping box and the bubble wrap was in the middle of the box -- exactly opposite of correct packaging. One of my bulbs arrived broken. After I sent a photo of the bulb, a new one was sent without charge. It too arrived with the bulb against the box wall and the bubble wrap in the middle! Fortunately it was not broken.

jpat

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jpat
  • Does what it's supposed to
  • December 31, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was concerned that this lamp might not be bright enough for the ceiling lamp application I had planned for it. I am pleasantly surprised to find it puts out plenty of light.It fit the socket without issues and illuminates the room as well as old bulbs I had previously installed.I'm happy!

Pros: Very Bright, Easy Installation

Video & Photos

dandlyin

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: dandlyin
  • We like the LED
  • May 13, 2014
  • Verified Purchase

The newest LED bulbs from Philips and Cree are now available and they both make good progress towards true incandescent bulb replacements. The new Phillips bulb was made to address the yellow turned-off appearance of its previous models. It is heavier and has solid frosted glass that disperses light in all angles, looking more natural when viewed directly compared to the competition

Pros: Easy Replacement Cons: Complicated

Stanley

Fremont, CA, USA
45 to 54,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Stanley
  • Philips60W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) A19 Dimmable LED Light Bulb
  • January 14, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I LOVE these LED light bulbs. They look really good in my ceiling lamp/fan, and, even at night, they make it appear in my bedroom as if it's the sunniest of days!

Pros: Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design
  • DIY

bardahl

Dahlonega, GA, USA
55 to 64,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: bardahl
  • love this product
  • March 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

These bulbs are attractive as well as functional, the lighting they give is bright yet soft. I am looking forward to saving money on my light bill as well as the money saved in purchasing bulbs since these are supposed to last over 20 years. Of course I have only had them for a few weeks so it remains to be seen how long they actually last, but I am impressed that there is a 7 year warranty on them which was a factor that I considered when paying for these pricier bulbs. All in all, it is a great product.

Pros: Nice Design
  • DIY

kat60

North Carolina, USA
55 to 64,Female
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kat60
  • Excellent value, good quality, will use and see how long it lasts
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I bought my first 5k for an overhead light. This one is slightly too white/bright, so perhaps next time if I go for Philips, I shall try more yellowish specter. Otherwise, the size, weight, speed/reaction, brightness are as promised and as reviews state.

Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation Cons: perhaps too white for some

Video & Photos

Gyun

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Gyun