Product Reviews For Hampton Bay 6-Light Black Under-Cabinet Xenon Puck Light Kit

Overall Rating
2.7/5
  • a fair purchase
  • October 01, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • I installed these lights maybe 5 months ago, no real issues with them at all. I've had one bulb blow, and that seemed to be due to a power surge. I didn't have the experience of a blown fuse or anything like that.As far as the install is concerned, the most i had to do was purchase a few cheap extension cords to extend a couple of the connections. As for them breaking, can't say that I had an issue with that. Perhaps others may have been screwing them in a little too hard. They're plastic, its to be expected that they could potentially be lesser quality. I mean, you are getting 6 lights and 2 dimmer switches for under $40, so...
  • By: DIYBassist01
  • Difficult to install - blows internal fuse when bulb blows
  • August 29, 2012
  • I bought this item thinking it would be easy to install. Well, as others have stated the little tiny screws that hold them under the cabinets are cheap cheap cheap, and you will need a very small philips screwdriver head to install.- also the wiring is heavy gauge extension cord, requiring fairly large holes to be drilled under/between cabinets.-- worst of all, the whole thing failed after a couple of weeks. There is NO MENTION of a FUSE inside the module (that blows when a bulb blows). I was only able to find that information from reading these reviews (thanks, by the way). So I disassembled the main module and replaced the fuse and found that a bulb had indeed burned out. Replaced that too. Now they work again, for now.---- What a pain ! I don't have time for this.I would not purchase this item again.EMC
  • By: EMC1
  • Ridiculously difficult to install
  • July 17, 2012
  • I just wasted two hours trying to install this light set. The screws are ridiculously small and nearly impossible to screw into hardwood cabinets without stripping. And five screws per light is just overkill. I finally gave up, removed the one lit I had successfully installed, and will be returning them for a refund.
  • By: Steve
  • Lamps burn out and blow the dimmer every time.
  • June 29, 2012
  • These are great when they are working, which is most of the time. However every time a xeon lamp goes out it takes out the fuse in the dimmer. Annoying.
  • By: lasershane
  • Internal fuse blew in 2 weeks
  • June 02, 2012
  • I installed them, very easy, but as others have experienced the internal fuse blew when one light blew out. I easliy replaced the 2amp fuse, but unmouting and remounting the control module from behind my cabinet above my microwave was not fun. My microwave is custom built in, and that's where I hid the controller when we remodeled the kitchen.
  • By: Corey
  • DO NOT BUY!!! Breaks instantly
  • May 31, 2012
  • I literally just finished screwing in the fourth light (was planning on doing 4 then seeing how it looked, add the other 2 later) and was tapping in the wire guide to hide the first wire when one light became super bright. I cycled the dimmer a few times with no help, it was twice as bright as the others. Unplugged it, plugged it back in, and the bulb blew. Annoying I thought, but not the end of the world.Well, it took out the rest of the unit so now none of them work. Just wasted an hour and a half installing them, though at least I didn't spend another hour hiding the wires before this happened. Reading the other reviews shows that this set is literally junk, don't bother because you're just going to waste your tim installing something that won't last. Maybe you'll get more than an hour out of them, but sounds like eventually you'll have to replace them.On the other hand, they did look great for the 5 minutes they worked!
  • By: RegularGuy
  • Good lights with lots of mounting options
  • March 06, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • The light set I bought had the touch dimmer switch which was very nice. The lights have a lot of mounting options. The flexibility of the package would make them useful in many situations.Down sides are that they generate quite a bit of heat and the mounting screws are so small that you need a specialty phillips screwdriver (size P0 or smaller) to install them. I would recommend pre-drilling holes to make the screw installation easier.
  • By: Scrambler
  • These lights are satisfactory
  • March 05, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • I installed this product 2 years ago in my kitchen and have had no problems with them other than the glass lens falling out occasionally. I believe I got my money's worth out of them.
  • By: Bake
  • Bulb burned out within days
  • January 30, 2012
  • Bulb burned out within a week in an enclosed display case and didn't impress my client much. Like the previous reviews pointed out, wish I would've done my research before installing this light.
  • By: corpart
  • Wouldn't buy again
  • January 30, 2012
  • Like others who posted here, I just had a bulb blow which took out the dimming unit. Cheap junk made in China. Find something else. Don't know why Home Depot would keep selling something that its customers clearly think is terrible.
  • By: Kilroy