Product Reviews For Henry 549 7 lb. FeatherFinish Patch and Skimcoat

Overall Rating
3.6/5
  • Perfect product for the job
  • July 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Excellent product....mix well and work fast. Perfect for those small areas where SLC would be overkill. A true feather edge with exceptionally smooth finish
  • By: Rapidroy
  • Takes some getting used to!
  • January 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • So I screwed up a concrete slab floor repair with sack concrete. I was smart enough to make sure all of the newly poured concrete was below the original floor level figuring I could top it with something prettier! I found this product. My first attempt was with one whole box, mixed in a 5 gallon bucket with the correct amount of water. MISTAKE. I had to spread it across a large area. By the time I was finished spreading it was beginning to firm up. Box says don't add more water, mix again. I did that and it bought me another 5 minutes or so then done. I rushed outside to clean up the tools. I let the bucket set up. When I was back inside i noticed some ridges, humps, and other high spots. I took my 2" scraper and shaved off the lumps, high spots, and other imperfections. It was like cutting through putty for another half hour, then too firm for more but I was in pretty good shape. The results were passable, not great. The finish was nice and smooth.I had more to do so I bought another box. This time I also bought some small 2.5 qt buckets. That made this go from frustration to a good product. I used a drill mixer, 1 qt (by volume) mix and 1/2 qt of water. Mix for a minute (it didn't splatter) and go. No rush, no panic, just enough to carefully spread around and make it look nice without setting up. Washed everything, mixed another batch, and pressed on. VERY good results when you aren't hurrying. I used this to fill in some old nail divots from carpet tack strip and the floor is smooth, even, and looks nice. It sets in a hurry, which is good, because 30 minutes later I put on another coat where it was needed.I recommend this product with the following cautions: Mix small batches and have everything ready to go.
  • By: ScooterDobs
  • Just what I needed
  • December 28, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Easy to mix. Perfect for what I needed it to do (skim coat). No sanding necessary. VERY smooth finish. Drys and cures fast!
  • By: not2bz4you
  • Good but sets very fast.
  • February 26, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • You will want to mix only a very small amount as it becomes more difficult to work in less than 10 minutes. I found that it takes about 2 min. to mix. then after only another 5 min. it begins to set. After 2 hours, it can then be sanded with a fine sandpaper to give a super smooth surphase.
  • By: wldwdpc
  • Works as Adverstised
  • November 08, 2011
  • Recommended Product
  • This is in response to REB177. This product is intended to setup fast...15 - 20 Minutes. You should have bought the unipro, which sets much slower. I like using Featheredge for quick repairs before laying VCT.
  • By: Strike13
  • Good when used as instructed
  • January 06, 2011
  • Recommended Product
  • This product is good for patching isolated low areas. For my 300 sq ft living room, I used self leveling underlayment to raise 200 sq ft by up to 1/2 inch. Then I used this prodcut to patch isolated spots in the remaining 100 sq ft. This saved me the expense of having to raise the entire 300 sq ft.I created a new batch for each 4 to 6 sq ft area, and was able to patch each area within the 10-15 minutes work time, After very rough initial smoothing with a putty knife, I went over the area with a 4 ft straight edge to level it out. Then I used a putty knife for the final smoothing and feather edging.This product did not dry sufficiently in 15 minutes for the surface to be usable. Perhaps it is due to the 60 degree room temperature . It dried in about 4 hours. With a spot heater, I was able to reduce the drying time to 30 minutes to 1 hour, depending on the thickness of the patch.
  • By: MikeAustin
  • October 27, 2010
  • Recommended Product
  • I used this product to repair holes and uneven spots in my cement and tile basement floor prior to laying new vinyl on top of it. It required more than the recommended amount of water to give the product a putty-like consistency. the product did get lots of small lumps that I had to mashed outI mixed small batches of no more than 3 cups at a time.The bag suggests that you don't mix up more than what you can spread in 15 minutes. It does set up very quickly but I was able to add multiple layers as each one dried (in 15 or 20 minutes) to get the result I desired.It dried hard but I was still able to scrape it smooth.
  • By: Somlee
  • Not at all what I hoped!
  • July 07, 2010
  • I used this on a very small (30 sqft) bathroom floor as a DIY project. I wanted to cover the old (1960) adhesive sheet after pulling up the old tiles (2 layers).Started ok... seemed dry when mixed as instructed (full bag). I managed to get about 4 sqft covered smooth the way I wanted until the mix hardened to the point that it was no longer malleable (mostly small crumbly balls). I persisted, thinking it was my technique. But, after struggling another 10 minutes, the remaining mix hardened in the bucket.My advise #1: don't buy this product.#2. Don't buy this product unless you have at least 2 or more people laying it.#3. If you ignore #1 and #2, at the very least, only mix enough mix that you can confidently lay within 10 minutes; then proceed to mix another small batch.In the end, the crumbly balls of cement (and smaller 'pebbles') ended up making installation of the self-adhesive tiles MUCH more frustrating.
  • By: reb177