Product Reviews For Ariens 42 in. 17.5 HP Briggs & Stratton 6-Speed Riding Lawn Mower

Overall Rating
4.3/5
  • "Great little Rider" = with power
  • July 19, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Great= runs, cuts, turns just as expected == so far === great===love the Safety features = goes up & down the hill easy====just the right size = for me. It even cuts in reverse.
  • By: Tommy
  • Great Buy for the price !
  • July 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Ordered this for my husbands Father's Day gift. He is really pleased with the riding lawn mower, he states is easy to handle and has all the features he needs..He loves the way the lawn mower cuts. Great purchase !!!!
  • By: Mickey
  • Excellent purchase
  • July 16, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • super smooth ride, cuts evenly and powerful. nothing bad to say at all...2 thumbs up and excellent value
  • By: Rune
  • Good purchase
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Mows really well, floater wheels on deck would have been nice, but otherwise seems to be a good mower. Hit a rock broke spindle, but was easily replaced.
  • By: Trapper
  • Great
  • July 15, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • The mower is as I thought it would be. easy to operate, the wife has used it. It is well worth the money.
  • By: Tuna
  • Excellent mower for the price. Just put gas in it check the oil and go.
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Great cost vs value with this mower. It doesn't have a gas gauge or a beer cooler but for the cost it's well worth it. If you're looking for a good deal on a basic rider this is it...
  • By: DannyT
  • Like it so much, I bought a 2nd one!
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I own 5 lawn tractors which I use to maintain multiple properties.Sometimes the grass gets quite tall before I start mowing.The mower deck on this tractor can be lifted quite high so it doesn't choke in mowing tall grass.The absolutely best feature is you can replace the VBelt for the mower blade without taking ANY bolts of pins off!My Husquvarna and Lawn Boy require multiple bolts to be taken off to change the belt.BTW the belt is 94" long and 1/2" wide and is available from VBelts4Less for $5 (rather than $35 for the OEM part).
  • By: MrTommm
  • Good purchase
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • My only complaint is that it is very messy. It slings grass and dirt everywhere!!!! My John Deere didn't do this. It cuts with great ease and turns as good as a zero turn. I don't want to replace it, I just can't understand why it is such a mess.
  • By: yanny008
  • Powerful but rough ride and rough shifting
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Title says it all. I think it's a great buy for $1,000, but I had to let a lot of air out of the tires as the ride was extremely uncomfortable. Shifting takes a soft foot, or it will snap your head back. Very powerful though, and that was most important for me. Oh, maneuverability is outstanding.
  • By: skeith
  • Excellent lawn tractor for the price
  • July 09, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Bought the lawn tractor on line from Home Depot. Local delivered right into my garage. Was in a wooden crate all assembled except the steering wheel. It took a little while to get out of the crate.The only problem so far is that it would not start right away, nothing when turning the key. After searching the wiring, I found a loose connection under the hood. I plugged it in all the way and presto!, it started right up. For the money, this mower is so much better than my old Sears 38 inch rider I purchased in 1990.
  • By: Beno