Product Reviews For Samsung 4.0 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Overall Rating
3.8/5
  • Fraterns redesign problem
  • July 11, 2014
  • Fraterns, I have gone over the same problem for 7 weeks and finally filed a BBB complaint in NJ! Same exact problem and may go have to do a class action suit!
  • By: Audrey
  • Best Looking washer
  • June 26, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I was delighted that it came to the Home and set up, No home /DeliverCharge, thanks again, Maytag are no good, had two of them. after a few year of them, got tried of them breaking down.Samsung all the way. GREAT
  • By: Liko1
  • worked great up until 1 month ago.
  • June 16, 2014
  • The washer worked great until about a month ago. It started to go out of balance on every load. It was bought in August of 12. I bought another washer because I figured it would cost about the same as a new one to get it repaired. I bought an extended warranty with the new one.
  • By: tomjones
  • Known Design Flaws but Samsung refuses to address issue.
  • June 09, 2014
  • I purchased a Samsung top loading washing machine two years ago. Model WA400*. I recently had a failure of the bracket that holds the drain pump to the drum.It simply cracked/broke due to the strain on the bracket mounting points. In researching the issue looking for a replacement part what I discovered is that Samsung recognized that there was a design flaw in how the bracket was designed and did a redesign of this bracket. There is a technical bulletin describing the discontinuation of the old part and the replacement of the new. Do a Google search of ASC20130222001 dated 2/22/2013.This affects the WA400, WA422 and WA456 models.The original bracket is part number DC63-01427A and is discontinued and out of stock everywhere.The upgraded bracket is part number DC94-03523A and is discontinued and out of stock everywhere.Only 3 months later on 5/9/2013 they recognized that this was still an issue and put out Bulletin # ASC20130509001, where they came out with a complete retrofit kit with new wires/hoses/brackets, etc. that moves the pump from being attached to the drum to being attached to the frame of the washing machine. Only problem with this is that they had made other design changes to these model numbers around 12/24/2012, you can tell if the machine is of the newer design due to a 01 being added to the end of the model number. The retrofit kit that moves the pump to the frame can only be done to machines made after that date or have the 01 at the end of the model number. Originally I thought my machines serial number meant that the retrofit kit would not work on my machine, but now I am not so sure due to some confusion of the affected serial numbers.Regardless if my machine can take the retrofit kit, considering the acknowledged design flaws, and the multiple redesigns to attempt to correct this problem I approached Samsung that I was not comfortable that even if any of the possible repairs were done, old bracket/new bracket/retrofit, that it simply was delaying the inevitable failure of this part/assembly again. In my opinion this should be handled similar to how the Lemon Laws are done.What I purchased had inherent design flaws with multiple attempts at redesign over a relativity short period of time.I asked to be escalated and after giving all the relevant information, I asked for my machine to be replaced with a newer model of similar trim line/features that (hopefully) did not have these design issues.The answers were a simply, blunt, "outside of warranty" (remember this is only two years old and the first redesign of the bracket happened no more than 3 months after I bought it), replacement was "not and option" and that if I'd like they "could transfer me to where I could buy an extended warranty".If this was a relatively unknown issue, or only affected a small percentage of customers, I would not be happy, but would feel that Samsung upheld their side and it was just my bad luck that it failed outside of the warranty period.Due to the fact that this machine was sold with an inherent design flaw, that they not only had to address once, but had to go back and revisit again as their own Technical Bulletins show changes this as far as I am concerned as what I got was not a failure of a part that was just made bad that day or for a particular production run, or a part that is normal to wear down over the course of use, but for an inherent flaw in how it was designed in the first place. That even if made/assembled/and used perfectly, failure was guaranteed.I am currently waiting for a call back from a supervisor. If I get any kind of response other than "out of warrenty, too bad" I'll update but considering what I have seen so far I am not holding a lot of hope. If I can get no resolution from Samsung, then I will turn to whatever other avenues that are available to me. I'll probably start with the State Attourney general and if nothing else it has been suggested to me to simply file in small claims court. Like I said, if it weren't for the fact that this is a known design defect (not manufacturing defect), I would just simply curse my luck and move on.
  • By: FraterNS
  • Love how easy it is!
  • May 20, 2014
  • Works great! Love how everything is electronic!!!!
  • By: HBB0806
  • Save your money
  • May 10, 2014
  • The only good feature of this washer is that it holds a large load. However, because the the so-called energy saving it does not clean clothes very well since it does not load enough water and does not agitate very well. I would not recommend this washer to anyone. Save your money !
  • By: Richard
  • Great Value
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • Very quiet and dependable. Takes a bit longer to do a load of clothes.
  • By: TomT
  • We have a family with four teenagers, and this machine is able to handle the loads! We absolutely love it!
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • We have four children in our home between the ages of 14 and 20. Our wash load is always large. This machine has been able to handle all of our laundry needs and keep our hamper empty. We love it!
  • By: Bobbi
  • Piece of Junk
  • May 04, 2014
  • This washer worked perfectly for 3 months. After that we had two service calls due to the entire machine banging around like it had lost all it's bearings, essentially destroying itself. The third time they simply insisted on giving us our money back. Buy something else.
  • By: Derby1
  • worst purchase ever
  • April 29, 2014
  • We have gone through 2 washers within the last year and both have fallen apart very disappointed. first it was a wiring harness took over 2months to get and now the barrel is falling apart and they want to send another repair person out. the washer works great till I reaches 2months old then it falls apart
  • By: groidsmasher