Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Great furnace for the basement! Buy this furnace....
  • December 19, 2013
  • Recommended Product

The furnace has exceeded my expectations. I had purchased an epa wood stove first and I could not get the house up even 1 degree because it just did not throw enough heat. But now with this furnace, I can heat us up and sometimes have to crack a window!! It was an awesome purchase. I also added secondary burn tubes to it and it is more efficient. If interested check out the my modification on you tube. Don't go through another cold winter - buy this furnace! The blower is a bit noisy, but in the basement it is quiet enough... may not be great if you have this set up in your living room next to the TV.... not sure what the folks are complaining about... it is no louder than my oil furnace was.

Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design

Video & Photos

  • DIY


Manchester, NH
35 to 44,Male
31 out of 31 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Overmann55
  • Englander Wood Stove - add on
  • December 05, 2009
  • Recommended Product

I'd give this 10 stars if I could. This is the second winter we've used our Englander and we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!! Almost every day we talk about how thankful we are to have this stove. . We've learned how to control the heat, sometimes it would get too hot and we'd have to open a window, (not a bad problem to have). We have a 3000 sq ft home in Western PA and every room in the house is comfortable. This stove has paid for itself already. I love the fact that this company is a family started and run business, that takes pride in its products and craftmanship and that it's made in AMERICA!!!


Valencia, PA
26 out of 26 people found this helpful
more details...
By: okkenyon
  • Best Purchase I Have Ever Made!
  • September 15, 2011

The Englander Company of wood stoves is superb. I initially put a small Englander wood stove in my living room mainly as decoration. In the fall I use it to heat my main level and the upstairs, all by radiant heat. The stove in my livingroom is rated for 1000sq/ft and my house is about 1140sq/ft and has 3 levels when including the basement. I was so impressed with the efficiency of the small wood stove that I looked to replace my wood furnace in the basement with a larger Englander stove. I came across this stove and after comparing it to other brands, and after reading the reviews, I decided to purchase this stove. This stove is AMAZING! Winters (heating months) where I live are usually about half the year, and occasianally we have the winter days that only see highs of -10F, and lows of -35F on the thermometer. My wood furnace is in the basement, and I still haven't hooked it into the ductwork in my house. The first year I had it I left the basement door open and it easily heated all 3 levels of my house. Last year I had to leave the basement door closed during the day since my son learned to crawl and walk. Even with the door closed the house remained warm, often in the upper 70's and occasianal 80's but then the windows were opened. I went through just over 18 face cords of mixed hardwoods between the middle of September and the end of April. I only burn wood, I don't even have a gas furnace. The burn control on this stove is excellent. I would recommend installing a damper on the smoke stack immediatly above the stove as I have. The damper on the stack combined with the two air flow vents on the stove allow you to control the burn time with great precision. I load the stove at 4am when I get up for work, again at 2pm when I get home and then again at 10pm when I go to bed. When I leave town for the day I can easily adjust it to burn much longer. The longest I've had it burn was between 14-16 hours, but it was warm outside (mid 30'sF), and it creates more creosote.I don't think it can get any easier to start a fire with this stove. Even with the smallest amount of embers, within minutes you can have a roaring fire. I only lit one match last year, and that was in the middle of Sept.Installing the stove is quite simple, some parts are removeable, making it much lighter. I had to go down a flight of stairs, so my brother-inlaw helped me strap it to a dolly and get it down the stairs. Once it was on the basement floor I was able to push it around on 2x4's into place.I would highly recommend this stove to anyone looking to heat their house for the winter.


25 out of 25 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Josh
  • A great furnace at a great price
  • October 09, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The wood furnace works very well and was easy to install. I hooked it into my existing hot air plenum and it took me about 4 hours total to install. I've been using it for 3 years now and have been very happy with it. It is a bit noisy so I wouldn't install one in your living space but the basement is fine.

Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable Cons: Noisy, Vibrates

Video & Photos

  • Pro


Montpelier, VT, USA
45 to 54,Male
24 out of 24 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Soren
  • Englander 28-3500
  • September 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I purchased this stove for my house that I purchased in April of 2014. This house was only setup with an oil furnace. I have only started it up once, but I was incredibly impressed with how much heat this thing put out. After install, I started a fire to burn off the fumes. This did smoke up the house, but after twenty minutes or so the smoke cleared and the burn was smooth. I put in 2 very small pieces of wood on a recent 37 degree night and it kept my house at 70 until morning. I expect that this stove will be just as impressive as it gets colder. A very cool stove, easy installation, TON of heat output through the blower. Their customer service is terrific, send me 2 shipments of new fire bricks for free because mine were damaged in shipping. I was hesitant about buying such a low priced stove, but these reviews convinced me, and they were true.

Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design

Video & Photos

  • DIY


Charlestown NH
18 to 24,Male
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
By: bthresher183
  • January 15, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I am sitting here in my warm (maybe too warm 80* F) house while it is below freezing outside. I am now heating for my second year over the winter for free with this add on furnace (around 1800 Sq feet). This stove has held up great and I love its features. The ash pan saves a lot of work and keeps down on dust compared to shoveling out a stove. Also the glass door is nice for keeping an eye on the fire and not hard to keep clean either. I can bank this stove off all night overnight and all day during the day. I LOVE IT! Do be careful though to keep your chimney clean of creosote if you do not keep this baby going hot enough. If the house gets too warm I just let it go out then restart the fire later. I usually have no trouble starting a fire when adding a full load of wood by leaving the ash pan door open. The manufacturer does not recommend this probably so one is not to forget about the door being open because it would be easy to over fire your stove this way. However, it also makes it very easy to get the fire going after it has been out for a long time without filling the house with smoke. Load it with lots of newspaper and wood chips at first then a few logs and you will have a fire no sweat. Works great! THERE IS NOTHING LIKE THE WARMTH OF A WOOD STOVE. I highly recommend this stove. Don't forget to get it going outside your home for the first fire to break it in. Sure glad I did because the paint adjusting to the heat sure makes a lot of fumes.

Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, has an ashpan, has a glass door
  • DIY


35 to 44,Male
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WoodCutterJim
  • Englander Wood Furnace
  • November 30, 2009
  • Recommended Product

In use for 10 years. Has saved us thousands in heating bills. We chose this Made in America (Virginia) model for the large firebox, large firebox door, huge ashpan, upper and lower dampers, fire chamber window, ability to hook to duct work heating first floor, large gaps in firebox grate, and powerful fan with auto feature. Furnace easily heats basement (1500 sq ft) and first floor (1500 sq feet), and reduces cost of heating upstairs (1370 sq. ft). Thermostat and auto fan still work reliably. We replace door gaskets every 2-3 yrs. Chamber holds huge amount of wood, but don't use glass window to push extra wood into stove (glass may break). May break firebricks at end of stove if throw wood in too hard. New bricks easily slide in place. Large firebox holds 8-12 hours of hardwood for good night's sleep. Large firebox door allows us to put in big pieces of wood, and oddly shaped wood (eg. small stumps). Huge ashpan only needs to be emptied every 2-3 days. Upper and lower dampers allow easy adjustment to burning rates. We can readily increase draft when burning large unsplit pieces of wood. We close the bottom damper when adding wood to reduce smoke in house. We open ashpan door to draft wood from below when re-starting fire from very little ember material left on the grate. Large gaps in fire grate mean easy cleaning. Window lets you make sure fire is catching up.We burn at least 4 cords of wood per year, mostly locust, some hickory, ash, walnut, oak, and maple, dogwood, and sassafras, and we may burn a bit of redbud, and sycamore. We separate lighter, punkier wood (corky) and oddly shaped pieces of wood (forks, bends, lumps) into a "junk wood" pile that we burn during days we have off work (when we have time to throw wood in a few times per day) and save best wood to burn at night and on days we are at work (when we fill the stove only two or three times each day). Keep your house well insulated and use weather stripping and caulking to stop drafts around doors, windows, and behind switch plates, and you will be amazed at how effective this furnace is. Although the firebox around the sides and top of the stove are pretty safe, we keep all burnable materials away from all sides and top of stove. The large handles and spring grips make the doors very safe to handle. But teach children to stay away from the fire chamber door and window because they do get hot enough to burn skin. We screwed concrete board into the basement rafters above the place where the stove pipe enters the chimney, and at a point where the heating duct from the stove passes under a wooden beam in the basement. If there is a power failure, and the fan cuts off completely, the ductwork connected to the stove will get incredibly hot. During power failures, we run a generator to keep the fan going or we disconnect the heating ductwork at the stove top and let the stove release hot air directly into the basement rather than risking letting the ductwork overheat. When disconnected from the ductwork, the heat from the stove rises upstairs through the open basement door. To heat most effectively from the basement, the stove must be connected to the first floor heating ductwork. However, if it is not connected, some warm air still rises through open doors from the basement, and a warm basement keeps the floor above really warm. One of the things we like the most about the wood furnace is the way it keeps the floor above very warm. The fan is powerful yet quiet. If you unplug the fan when filling the stove, don't forget to plug it back in so the ductwork won't get too hot. If the main stove operator is not home during the day, someone can toss a couple of small pieces of wood in the stove late in the day to keep it running until the main stove person gets home to fill the stove. We were thrilled the day we learned about this Englander stove and a salesperson contacted Englander for us to ask a few questions and order the stove for us. We are still absolutely thrilled with the purchase - one of the best investments we have ever made. And our family gets exercise, fun, and rewarding time together watching our wood pile grow each year. Our family gives this stove an A+ 5 star rating.


Mendota, Virginia 24270
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: David2009
  • Very Pleased
  • February 17, 2011
  • Recommended Product

We are now well into our second season with this wood furnace. We have nothing but good things to say about this furnace, and the company. The tech support was very helpfull, and very willing to answer any and all questions.We did have a problem with the original blower motor. They replaced it, and shipped at no charge We burn 24hrs a day as soon as it gets cold enough for our furnace to kick on. We fill it at night before we go to bed, around 10:00 or 11:00 PM, and there are still enough coals to keep it going at 7:00 or 8:00 in the morning. Especially after you get used to adjusting the two vents. We've even learned to adjust the fan temp control so the fan doesn't stay on constantly all day, on those days where it might get to hot in the house. Very nice furnace for the money. Very highly recommend, not just because it works so well, but also because this company, Englander, is all about customer serice.

  • DIY


Pittsburgh, Pa.
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: pghfrftr
  • good investment
  • October 07, 2014
  • Recommended Product

We have a 2600 sq ft house with a full basement on wooded mountains in VA. We routinely have power outages during winter. We purchased this furnace to be the main source of heat for winter. It was easy to install, and so far has worked better than expected. I tested it on a cold snap of 35 degree weather, and with only a single blower it took several hours to warm the house but soon we were at a very comfortable 72 degrees and had to dampen it back to keep it manageable. Both the house and basement approx. 5200 sq ft were maintained at 70 plus with the furnace at half damper. The added advantage was it dropped the humidity level to a dry 45 percent in the basement. It also uses less wood than the fireplace insert we had been using and the blower runs with no problem on our limited solar back up system. The only negative is the strong industrial coating smell that burns off after the first several burnings. If you have access to wood this is a no brainer. After a full winter I'll write another review.

Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
  • DIY


55 to 64,Female
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: rebfromva
  • dont believe the lower reviews!! this stove heats like none other!!
  • November 22, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I have had this stove for 4 years and it heats my 3500sqr ft house with ease.I just read some of the low rating comments and clearly those people are doing something wrong.This stove cranks out heat!! I have mine set up as a stand alone stove not added to my ductwork.I put an elbow on the blower out vent and have the blower plugged into a variable rate switch wich allows me to adjust the blower from half speed to full blast.My furnace has been disconnected for years and this is my sole source of heat,thats how good this thing is.I burn pallet wood when Im home and cordwood at night,stove will run for 8 hours easy!!Just like any wood stove you need to learn all its habbits.I also installed a damper in the outlet black stove pipe before the chimney to add more burn control.If you want real awesome heat,this stove has it and its got good old steel reflector inside,nun of that epa cataletic tubes that robs all your heat burn.

Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design Cons: none


southern new hampshire
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: palletsequalfreeheat