Product Reviews For Englander 3,000 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Add-On Furnace

Overall Rating
4.6/5
  • not reccomended
  • May 10, 2014
  • stove performed far below expectations. house is under 1600 square feet and even running stove wide open could not get inside temp above 62 degrees. had to replace blower after 2 months and found blower to be under powered. usually use 4 cord of wood per year, but with this stove used 4 bought another 1 and ran out before winter was over. bought this stove after much research and reading the reviews. believe the reviews were generated by company and not by consumers.
  • By: shivering
  • A great product and value
  • May 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This furnace is great because of the large firebox and powerful blower. This is actually my third purchase of the same model as we have now moved three times over the last twenty years and because of its durability it has been a huge asset in selling our home as our utility bills have always averaged much lower than any of our neighbors.
  • By: Tim78
  • 5 Star in every aspect
  • March 04, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Product preforms in every aspect, quality construction, excellent add on furnace. U.S.A. built to high quality standards, I would say an excellent value for the buck. Very satisfied.
  • By: jimm
  • AWESOME BEST DEAL, LOVE IT
  • March 02, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • I have owned this wood stove for about 5-6 years now, I purchased this for around 1600 I believe when I picked it up, I am just now back on here because my blower motor went. I heat about 2700 sqft, I do not have this hooked into my furnace, just sitting in my garage, with a elbow facing the main walk way I sometimes have to open my garage door because its so hot in the house, I always fill this thing to the max before bed and when I wake up 7 hrs later it is still warm in the house and has enough coals to just add more wood and last for the day while I'm at work, I always shut my dampers all the way closed too. Best wood stove ever I would say, I love this stove and would suggest anyone looking to heat with wood buy this stove, If you find something better I would like to know, I see the other ones but either the ash pan was too small which you have to dump all the time or that stupid flap that you burn yourself on all the time! This one here has a large ash pan will not need dumping for 4-5 days of filling 2x's per day and no flap to burn yourself on, So now hope to find a blower motor b/c I am wasting money heading with my Propane furnace! 2 words for anyone looking at this stove BUY IT! Lastly I live in Upstate NY we are used to -20's and its always warm in here!
  • By: VETTEGUY
  • great heat, but needs to be hooked up to ventilation system
  • February 26, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • We originally bought this unit because of the great reviews and a friend's recommendation. We installed it in our basement hoping the heat would radiate or flow up the basement stairs. Unfortunately, on it's own, it does not. The basement (1800 sq ft) is a cozy 70 degrees, but upstairs is still at least 10 degrees colder, which means I'm running the heating system the same as if the woodstove was not working. We live in a rancher, so I was hoping the basement placement would be enough, but it seems the only way to get the heat up is to attach it to the ventilation system. I'm sure it's user error, since everyone raves about this woodstove. I'll post updates as they comes...
  • By: Natalie
  • This is the best purchase decision my wife and I have made
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This winter has been brutal and for 2 people moving into a propane fueled home in July not knowing the ramifications of that decision upon our wallets....this add-on furnace is literally saving our marriage and finances. We have reduced our propane use within the first 2 weeks by over 90%. This is the first time we have been able to relax, comfortably in our house this winter. We have 3200 sq. ft and this is working throughout the house effectively. The blower is strong and effective and forces air all the way to the 2 floor from the basement. not hearing our furnaces run is the best sound ever. I am very pleased and shocked at how easily it installed and was up and running. Please do yourself one favor though, don't install it without having your chimney inspected. That saved us a huge headache. If you are looking at more expensive units, I truly believe you will be overpaying. This is the real deal.
  • By: BAR65
  • Very well built product
  • February 20, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I would recommend this stove to anyone looking to purchase a wood furnace easy to install give it an A + !!!
  • By: Jb4441
  • This stove has saved me a fortune!!
  • February 11, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Bought this stove back in December and had it professionally installed, it cost me quite a bit because I had too run exhaust out thru my poured wall and up around 21 foot with the triple wall insulated pipe!! The stove takes a little time too get it dialed in, I run about a 1/4 open on both top and bottom vents, if leaving the house for a long period I just get it hot and close my bottom damper completely for a longer burn, I was heating with LP so this stove saves me a fortune everyday, the blower is a bit noisy but mine is tied into my main trunk in my basement and it doesn't bother me, we started out using both my furnace fan along with the 850cfm fan but discovered it wasn't necessary too use both , didn't like getting up with cool air blowing out when the factory fan just shuts off by the probe, only con is the noise of the blower in my opinion and the ash pan is a poor design because ashes fall around the edges of the ash pan, wider burn area then the bottom ash area! I read the instructions completely but we found the best way too get our fire raging was by loading up and cracking the bottom door for no more than 10 minutes, I have 2 magnetic gauges too make sure there is no overfire, it is still difficult too get the stove too remain up in a hot burn zone according too gauges but it's burning clean and hot, house easily reaches 70 and up in the teens and low 70's in the negative weather we have had, my house is 2500 square feet with a upstairs area, all very open with a west wind that slams it across a field, I still only see about 4 too 5 hour burns with it dwindling down quickly, this unit requires a lot of poking and adding wood too really get your house hot!! I am very happy regardless, thanks!
  • By: Kmc9688
  • This product did everything it was described as doing including the blower
  • February 04, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Englander puts out a good product in this stove, features and functions are well built and the quality of welding surpasses many others. Allthough the write up on the page states 6-8 hours of burning, I found that with good seasoned wood I got about 4-5 with damper closed and air knob just cracked open. I have a 3400 sq ft home and installed this unit in a 3 season porch and it takes care of my whole home heating it to 65-70 deg. with the outside temp at -5 for the past 2 days.Great stove for any price, just a bonus that it was only $1100.
  • By: Aaron
  • great stove
  • January 21, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This is a great stove. We got it just in time to, three days after we installed it we got a storm that dropped us to -23 with -45 wind chills. I did not know it but we had a propane leak at the tank and we were out. I figured it out at 1 in the morning when the house started to get cold and the fault lights were flashing on my furnace so I fired up the stove for the first time and it brought the house up to 70 and keep it there. I have a 1918 farm house so it's perty drafty. That three day storm was four weeks ago and I still have not got propane. We love this burner!!
  • By: zachman