Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Disappointed
  • September 25, 2013

I have been a loyal Whirlpool consumer for over 30 years and this was the first product I have been disappointed in. I had numerous problems: Ice shot sideways and landed on my hard wood floor instead of a glass; Crushed ice was worse; Water would stop running; Ice formed on the of freezer; freezer light switch froze in off position; only way freezer light turned on was to open the fridge door.

Pros: Looks Great Cons: too many to list
  • DIY

Retired

Joliet, IL, USA
55 to 64,Female
27 out of 27 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Retired
  • Frost build up in ice chute.
  • October 30, 2013

This is a follow up to my previous write up. Called Whirlpool about the frost build up in ice chute. Service man came out, but didn't have the part. He ordered it. About 3 1/2 weeks later he showed up to replace the part. Within 48 hours, the frost has started to build up again. Now many months have gone by and the frost in the chute is really bad. When I try to use the Whirlpool website to schedule service again, their website won't let me enter the serial number (but allows everything else). When I hit enter, it gives me an error that the serial number is required. Very frustrating. If I do get someone out to repair/replace, this will be the third time I had to take time off from work to deal with this. If you don't mind the frost in the ice chute, this is a good product. Otherwise stay away from this one. I will try to upload a picture to this comment.

Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great Cons: lots of frost in ice chute, home repair

Video & Photos

  • DIY

STP1

Bellevue, NE
45 to 54,Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: STP1
  • Can't forgive Whirlpool for this ice maker
  • August 25, 2014

I have been using the previous model of this same refrigerator in a different residence and the ice maker works perfectly. This model sprays crushed and cubed ice all over the floor. Why would Whirlpool put this inferior ice maker into their newest product when the older model was great? I had the repairman look at it, and he said that there is no way to fix it. Whirlpool needs to make a new part, and as far as he knew, they were not working on it.We use a plastic container, trying to squeeze it to fit over the dispenser, covering the gaps with our fingers, but some ice usually manages to escape. Since we have a new laminate floor, having melted ice on the floor is a problem. We are careful, but when guests come over, there is always a mess to clean up. I don't understand why Whirlpool would put out a product with such an obvious problem. The ice maker is an important feature for us, so this really spoils the quality and value of the entire product, in my opinion. I would rather pay more and have an ice maker that works adequately.

Cons: poorly designed ice delivery
  • Pro

Vicki

DeLeon Springs, FL
55 to 64,Female
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Vicki
  • Great price, nice fridge, but frost build up in ice cube chute.
  • August 13, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Have had this fridge for about 3 months now. It is nice, and keeps the freezer stuff frozen and the refrigerator stuff nice and cold. However, apparently the ice chute doesn't seal well and let's in warm air that creats frost build up in the ice chute. I requested warranty work on this unit. The repair man arrived on time but didn't have the part. He will get it ordered and his company will call me when it arrives to schedule another appointment. As far as warranty response goes, they do well.

Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
  • DIY

STP1

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: STP1
  • Great stainless steal frig
  • June 24, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This frig has a great stainless steal look. Pros: the shelves are adjustable, ice/water dispenser on the outside, light on dispenser for night time, wheels underneath to move easily, & Home Depot employees install with delivery. Cons: lower frig drawers are not smooth opening & closing, ice/water dispenser is not designed well (you have to put your hand around cup and have fingers push the lever), design of freezer interior takes away space on top shelf, & cubic size of frig would not be enough for a family of 4+.

Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight Cons: Difficult to Use
  • DIY

Danny

Denver, CO
25 to 34,Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Danny
  • Great buy
  • October 18, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Great fridge for its price, plenty of room, makes ice fast. All my appliances at home are Whirlpool. I am very pleased with the purchase.

Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish

Video & Photos

  • Pro

bguser

Oklahoma
25 to 34,Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: bguser
  • Really Nice Refrigerator
  • February 05, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I bought it in December. It was delivered a month later as agreed. It is a great fridge. Yes the ice cubes jet out of the ice dispenser chute at the speed of sound but if you hold your cup or glass in the sweet spot it is absolutely no problem. Love the LED lighting that slowly brightens up when you open the door. Super bright lighting that is really so much better than my old whirlpool. Shelf adjustment levels are where they need to be for my setup. I like how quiet it is and it looks great in my kitchen with the water dispenser LED light on as a night light. Very cold very quiet awesome for me. Home Depot delivery guys were great too.

Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
  • DIY

Frank

Middle Tennessee
45 to 54,Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Frank
  • Pass this one up
  • July 16, 2013
  • Verified Purchase

Very annoying appliance. This was our only choice due to the size and price, but as others have found, the ice maker has a mind of its own. Even when dispensing cubed ice it spits out chips all over the place. Then it dribbles water and fills the overflow well which drips down the front. Ice gets stuck in the chute and falls out later on the floor after it melts enough to get through. If you have nice hardwood floors that can be a real problem. There are not enough shelves in either the refrigerator section or the freezer section and you have huge empty spaces.

Cons: Difficult to Use, poor design

jrh1

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jrh1
  • Worst ice dispensing system ever engineered
  • August 12, 2013

Basic frig is fine, BUT, if you don't like picking ice off the floor all the time - this is NOT your frig. Worst designed ice dispensing system I have ever experienced. Ice jams in the chute constantly - - - -then-- when you walk away --yeah-- the ice is all over the floor in a minute or so. There are better engineered products on the market Don't Buy!!

  • DIY

ayednc47

55 to 64,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ayednc47
  • BE WARE OF THE ICE MAKER!!!
  • July 17, 2013

This side by side is really nice and great for the price, HOWEVER the ice maker is a lot to be desired for. You can NEVER walk away from getting ice with out ice all over the floor. It can really become very aggravating. If they could fix this problem with the ice maker than they would have a great product. The ice is always getting crammed in the ice loader causing a backup and than you eventually have to empty ice with hands from loader and it also creates ice build up on top of loader and below ice box itself.. I would not recommend this product until they fix the problem with the ice maker..

Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design Cons: a very bad ice maker

Barstow, CA, USA
55 to 64,Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: