Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Good value-some work to get it going!!!
  • December 01, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

First shipment arrived damaged-had to return to store but HD Customer Service was very helpful! Second one arrived timely and had it professionally installed today.Installer noted two isues-compartment holding batteries on unit itself is located in odd spot and hard to manage when needing to replace the batteries. Also when putting the unit battery cover back on, make sure the space/hole on the back of the cover matches up to the switch otherwise on/off/remote selection will not operate with the remote control! Installer had to remove logs three diff times due to location of this control box-ugh!The second issue is log placement does not match up to instructions. Logs do smell when first ignited but can deal with it as it is temp situation.Overall I would rate this as a nice unit and exceptional value for the price paid!

  • Pro

Michael

Pennsylvania, USA
45 to 54,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Michael
  • A decent gas log set for the price
  • May 14, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I'm happy with this log set. It looks nice and gives off more heat than I expected. The pilot light seems very strong though, so I have to manually turn the entire unit "off" when I'm not using it, rather than leave it in "pilot" mode. The remote control has only a limited "on/off" function only after you manually light the pilot. The logs look good, but they don't stack up very sturdy. I bought this intended for occasional use anyway.

  • DIY

MarkK

Lakewood, OH, USA
45 to 54,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MarkK
  • Very bad tech support to help with problems!
  • December 11, 2013

I found that their tech support was very poor. For two days I tried to get answers to problems I was having with this product. However, even though I was told by two different tech reps that they call me back to answer my questions, they did not. A product is only as good as the people who stand behind it: and for me they did not!

Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design Cons: Difficult to Install, poor tech support

DKMc

Morgantown, WV
65 or over,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DKMc
  • This product heats the family room well.
  • January 14, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The unit is a bit lightweight and I had to use some spacers under the legs so the unit would not move. I had to remove the unit after I had installed it in order to correct a factory wiring issue; the control wires were shorted to each other at the terminal block. Once I corrected that problem, the unit would light and worked well. As stated in another review, I agree that the pilot light is a bit intense.

Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install Cons: Not Durable, control wiring issue

Video & Photos

  • DIY

KBurke

Indian Trail, NC, USA
45 to 54,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: KBurke
  • So far so great!
  • December 17, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This unit replaced an older one that had an ignition problem. The remote control works a lot better than our old one and the flames/logs is very realistic.Had a plumber put it in as he was here to do other repairs. (better safe than sorry) We use this device everyday; early mornings before work, after work and in the evenings for a time.These units in general have to be cleaned regularly so don't forget your maintenance.I don't believe you can find a better deal anywhere on this unit, they are very hard to get. Ours was backordered about a week, so you may expect a delay

Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design

Paulie

Pittsburgh PA
55 to 64,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Paulie
  • One Reason Why The Remote Mode May Not Work
  • December 18, 2010
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The burner assembly was shipped to me three days ago. One log was broken, but HD customer service said a replacement would be shipped. I placed the pieces of the broken log into the assembly and will use it until I receive one that is intact.The enclosed manual was legible, but the assembly and installation procedures were not in order, in my opinion. I installed the batteries into the receiver battery compartment, before placing the burner assembly into the fireplace. After installing the batteries, I placed the cover over the compartment and pushed in. An audible sound (beep) indicated that the batteries had made contact with the metal part of the circuit that was attached to the inside of the cover. The cover was not easy to latch to the compartment. When I pushed in on the top of the cover to latch it, the batteries (which were resting on springs) pushed out and unlatched the cover. On the third try it did not pop out and I assumed that it was latched. I decided to go ahead and install the receiver's 3-position slider plate over the battery compartment to keep the cover from unlatching.I then placed the burner assembly inside the fireplace and made all connections. I decided to initially check the unit in the manual mode and it worked fine. (Note: When lighting the pilot light for the first time, instead of using the Piezo, I recommend using matches or a lighter that you would use to light a barbeque grill. The reason is because when the unit is first assembled, the gas lines are full of air and it takes time for the air to be purged before gas will reach the pilot assembly. A steady flame is better to place at the pilot tube, instead of repeatedly pressing the Piezo for a spark.).I installed the batteries into the remote control and switched the receiver to the remote mode. The manual stated that pressing the button on the control would automatically mesh the remote control to the receiver. After repeatedly pressing the button for awhile, my first thought was that there was a problem with the receiver battery cover. After taking off the receiver's 3-position slider cover, I pushed in on the battery compartment cover and the receiver beeped at me. I knew that the cover had not previously been properly attached, when I heard the click as it did attach. After this, I pushed on the remote button and the burner lighted. I turned off the pilot light, the gas supply, and placed the logs.The only complaint that I have about the unit was the initial odor when it was first lighted. It was very strong, but thankfully the weather was relatively nice at this time of the year. I opened the damper fully and cracked a window. The odor reminds me of an oil-burning furnace. The flames may be curing an oil-based paint on the logs because the strength of the odor has diminished over the past three days. Now, the odor is not as bad as the smoke from real wood logs. Eventually, I think the smell will diminish to an acceptable level. Presently, I have adjusted my fireplace damper to a small crack for ventilation.I have reduced the rating for this burner assembly to four stars because of the odor. It is a realistic unit that gives off very nice flames and provides a relaxing atmosphere. The remote mode is still great!

chgchug129

Brownfield, Texas
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: chgchug129
  • Wondeful Gas Log set
  • February 05, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I researched for days and compared prices and specs everywhere. I am very amazed by the great value of this set. It looks beautiful and works perfectly too . The remote is a most, you just push the button and there's your fire " simple" maintenance free.

OLH1

Winter Park, fl
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: OLH1
  • We would order again
  • October 31, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We ordered the logs and when it came, two logs were broken and the remote didn't work, so we called and 2 logs were sent but they were the wrong logs and no remote...so we called again...and they didn't come so I called again and the customer service guy was very nice, reordered everything and gave us a $30 gift card...they came yesterday and everything is now the right logs with a working remote!

Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
  • DIY

imalady

Kansas
45 to 54,Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: imalady
  • Best fire log set out there
  • September 19, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

My wife's brother and sister-in-law purchased this propane fire log set a couple years ago and we had admired it for some time. This year we went searching for the same or similar log set. We looked at the box that his came in and the address on it read "Sure Heat" as was mine. The address on manual reads "SHM International Corp", same address and phone number. Anyway, you can't find a gas log set with remote, oxygen sensor, high and low flame settings for under $600. Usually the remote alone adds $80-$100. The gas log set works great (SCVFR24L), inexpensive and looks awesome. We don't use it for primary heating only ambiance or taking off the chill in the morning. We paid $329. I would recommend this product to everyone, it can be ordered in either natural gas or propane. I would recommend only having a professional install it, set up isn't complicated, your homeowners insurance probably wouldn't cover you if it wasn't. One con was my manual did not have the pages showing how to properly place each fire log (there is an order), I just jumped on line and down loaded another manual from Sure Heat with the correct illustration for my log set.

Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great

Video & Photos

WarmInMaine

Maine
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WarmInMaine
  • Realistic
  • February 05, 2008
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We own a 1700 sqft split level home and these logs heat our basement and 1st floor nicely. The remote has made turning the flame on and off extremely simple. It was easy to install and easy initial operation.The only con is the awful smell and smoke from the first burn. It takes approximately 6-8 hours to completely remove any residual materials from the logs (this is in the manual and is normal)--be sure to open all your windows and do not stay in the room these logs are burning in during that time.

SKSB

NC
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SKSB