Product Reviews For Emberglow Savannah Oak 24 in. Vent-Free Natural Gas Fireplace Logs with Remote

Overall Rating
3.8/5
  • works well
  • December 18, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • bought this to replace an old gas log set, remote is neat option and works well
  • By: cold
  • Really great for the price!
  • December 18, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I looked at pleny of other vent free burners that were twice the price. I decided on this one and have not been disappointed. It works really great, heating up my 1200 sq ft room in a matter of minutes. I use this burner without the logs and have decorated the fireplace with surrounding stone. I feel it is safer than having those fake logs (which can be caustic) sit on or so close to the burner. The stones i put there do not touch the burner and it looks very modern and beautiful. The remote is for on or off only. If you are looking for a remote that does more, do not buy this. Get a more expensive unit. For me I really do not mind. If i need to adjust the flame (which i never do) Im not too lazy just to go over and do it manually. The pilot on this is very long but I dont really mind this either, it really is not burning that much gas and when I leave for a long period or at the end of the season I will just turn it off. Its really nice just to walk in the room hit the on switch and be comfortable in a matter of minutes.
  • By: stuart
  • excellent choice
  • December 14, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • at 39,000 btu, this can heat a great deal of space! The only rooms that don't benefit from running the fireplace are bedrooms at the other end of the house. Fabulous choice!
  • By: Miller44202
  • Very bad tech support to help with problems!
  • December 12, 2013
  • I found that their tech support was very poor. For two days I tried to get answers to problems I was having with this product. However, even though I was told by two different tech reps that they call me back to answer my questions, they did not. A product is only as good as the people who stand behind it: and for me they did not!
  • By: DKMc
  • I can't recommend this product as it arrived and remains broken
  • December 11, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • When we received our order, shipped directly from the manufacturer, three logs were broken. I called SureHeat on October 14, 2013 and was assured that those three logs would be replaced immediately. In good faith we had the set installed into our existing gas fireplace. Having not received the logs, on October 29, 2013 I again called SureHeat and again was assured that the logs would be shipped out within the next two days. I was told that, in the event the logs did not ship, I would receive a telephone call apprising me of the situation. Still having not received the logs or any form of communication from SureHeat, on November 22, 2103 I emailed SureHeat at the contact number provided on their website and packaging; it was returned as nondeliverable. It has been nearly two months since my first contact with SureHeat and we still have three very obviously damaged logs. Because we installed the set in good faith, we can't return it to Home Depot.
  • By: Mike48
  • hated them, very disappointed
  • December 10, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • I am returning them. I've had to spend more money then they cost for service on them. They put out very little heat, even when the flue is closed,and when it is closed they can only stay on for a very few hours before they go out, because of oxygen depletion in the room.
  • By: KJW1
  • Great fireplace
  • December 10, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Our heater died and we didn't have $1500 to buy a new now and winter cold was hear. We looked at several fireplace stores in town , they wanted $900 for units that did not look as good. We read all of the reviews and decided it was a good option. Shipping was fast and nothing was broken, everything was packaged well. The gas line was already installed so all that needed to be done was hook it up. We did hire a plumber to hook it up as we just moved in and wanted to make sure the gas line was sound. Watched the plumber hook it up, could have done it my self in 30 min.tops but glad I had the gas line checked out. We are using this as our only heat source and it is GREAT! We have a 1500 sq. ft. Condo and we have to turn it off because we get too warm.it looks great and works even better would recommend it to anyone. The logs do stink a bit when first using it. Smell went away after a few days.
  • By: Cmac
  • Very well made
  • November 15, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I was a profesional installer of gas log sets and fireplaces for many years.I bought this set of logs because of the well made construction and decent price.My only complaints are they have no thermostatic control on the logs and the pilot flame is non adjustable and is really large.I have installed an external thermostat on the log set by removing the remote controls and problem number one solved.
  • By: Ghiaman
  • Great value, great item
  • November 05, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Before I purchased this item, I read many reviews on Home Depot website. Although some purchasers had negative comments about installation sheets (very hard to decipher but can see the installation guide on Home Depot website) and damaged shipments, we experienced no problems installing and setting up the remote, etc. Very pleased with this product. Looks waaaaay more realistic than the ones we previously had. We do detect some smell, as some reviewers commented on, but feel it's not an issue and will resolve with usage.
  • By: Debb
  • Savannah Oak 24"....Ventless Natural Gas Logs
  • October 22, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • After reading a lot of the reviews, I was very unsure weather to purchase these logs. I can say that I am very pleased with the purchase. They were packaged very well. each log was wrapped very well.No broken logs at all. Since I had the gas line already installed previously, it only took about 5 minutes to hook the logs to the gas supply. The logs were very easy to place. the instructions showed an example of each log and were numbered on the instruction book. I did print out a picture from this site to help. The remote worked perfect. Have had these for about 3 weeks and have had no problems at all. I did, as I read from one of the reviews, place the logs on my gas grill outside and let them burn off for about 3 hours. One they stopped smoking, I let them cool, and then placed them in the fireplace. Very little smell then. I did have to place a small nut under the front grate legs to life them up so that the remote cover did not touch the bottom of the fire box..No big deal, since the embers covers them.I would buy this product again.
  • By: rustyonthelake