Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...
  • June 27, 2013
  • Recommended Product

If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.

  • Pro

SMinAZ

Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
55 to 64,Male
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SMinAZ
  • Could not be Happier
  • November 26, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!

Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
  • DIY

shadowless

35 to 44,Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: shadowless
  • In-wall digital timer
  • August 12, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The product is well-designed with easy setup features. However, the installation instructions could be more in-depth with possible situations. Fortunately, the Customer Help line provided me with an immediate technician who explained how to circumvent my difficulty...very impressive service. I was replacing an older digital/mechanical timer which only required 2 wires to function. This new In-wall timer had 4 wires which included the ground. He explained that the third white wire must be buried in the box. Sure enough after taking out the other switches to access the entire box, a set of white wires were taped together along with some extra drywall mud. Once I was able to get to these wires, connect the new timer switch, I had a great product. The timer works great with a nice large display and illumination.

Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design, excellent value Cons: instructions were not clear

Video & Photos

  • DIY

woofjac

Iowa
55 to 64,Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: woofjac
  • Defiant Timer Same as GE Sunsmart Timer
  • November 07, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Bought the Defiant on 11/4/14. Not an electrician. Had difficulty with the 5 wires that the timer has, but finally got it right -- timer to wall for single pole: white to white, green to copper, black to red, blue to black, and no connection for red (tied off with wire nut as instructed). Hard time getting unit in the wall with so many wires, but got it done. Followed instructions for initial set up and to program timer for lites to come on at dusk and off at dawn. Did this at nite around 9pm after sunset. The timer showed Auto Off. This means the lights are off. The timer worked the next nite. Called customer service to confirm what Auto Off meant. Sure enough when the timer lights came on, the unit showed Auto On.Before I figured it out, I looked for guidance on YouTube and found a tutorial for programming from Jasco Products on the GE Sunsmart Timer. Exact same as Defiant. Very helpful.Gave this 3 stars because instructions need bolstering, should be a video from Home Depot available and better wiring instructions, buttons and wording too small.

NJCustomer110414

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NJCustomer110414
  • Great Timer
  • November 28, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Lets deal with some of the issues mentioned here: It does have a manual override option. You don't have to wait 24 hours if you use the temporary override option. Use linemans pliers to break off the tabs for a multi gang switch configuration. If you have an extra or errant program, it will not function. The default setting in the programming for on is dawn. If you want your lights on at night, change this to Dusk for the on time and Dawn for the off time. There is no battery. It contains a charging circuit that holds the time and program for 2 or 3 hours. Wiring can be complex and hard to understand. The buttons are small but there is limited space to begin with. It will fit into a standard size box. Older homes(60's and earlier) did use smaller boxes. The instructions are small and a little hard to undestand. Call the Tech Support number for any issues. They are very knowledgeable and willing to help. This is a very dependable timer and very few are defective.

Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, great technical support
  • Pro

JPOZ

Carrollton, GA
45 to 54,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JPOZ
  • Great product - set it and forget it
  • April 01, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We now have three. Controls outside lighting - front porch, driveway, rear parking area. These timers were required when we started using LED bulbs. Programming is easy when you read the instructions thoroughly first. They make the mechanical timers obsolete.

Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
  • DIY

HLRJR79

65 or over,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HLRJR79
  • 3-way installation a little bit intimidating, but works great.
  • September 02, 2014
  • Recommended Product

My installation was for the five led coach lights on the front of my house which were previously controlled by two 3-way switches. I am not an electrician and so some of the terminology in the instructions, although common electrical terms, were terms I don't fully understand. I had to do some research on "line" vs "load", for example. At one point, after having disconnected my old switch in the garage, I realized that the installation would require wiring changes at the other switch as well and I almost gave up. I'm glad I didn't. The changes to the other switch were easy and the necessary parts were included. In the end, it all worked as advertised. The programming was pretty easy, despite the necessarily tiny buttons and display.I have no hesitation recommending this for a simple 1-switch installation, but for a 3-way, you'll need to feel confident in your electrical skills. That's no fault of the switch itself -- just a reality of working with 3-way switches.My only other comment is that you'll need enough room in the electrical box as the switch itself is large and there are up to 5 wires to connect , each of which may require the use of a medium-sized wirenut. I installed mine in a standard square box which previously held two standard 3-way switches. It was tight after replacing one of them with this switch.

Pros: Clear Instructions Cons: Complicated
  • DIY

cornfieldcraig

Sugar Grove, IL
45 to 54,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: cornfieldcraig
  • Works very nice!
  • May 13, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.

Pros: Compact, Nice Design Cons: cables are long

Video & Photos

FJMG

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FJMG
  • Pretty easy installation
  • May 06, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Let me start off by saying electrical work is not my strong point. LolThat being said I found this pretty easy to setup. my current configuration actually had a 2 black wires and the white neutral was wound up with a wire nut with other white neutral wires. it'd take me a little bit to figure out that the black on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires and the blue on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires.Once I got it figured out everything setup just fine. Programming the switch was easy as following the directions.

Patrick139

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Patrick139
  • Great Electrical Timer
  • November 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I used one of these to replace a similar GE model (damned near identical but for the brand!) that had failed. The only trouble installing this was the fact that it went into a 3-gang box which made for a lot of crowding. The instructions might have been a little clearer--but I knew from looking at the diagram that the blue wire was intended to connect to the "load" and the black one to the "line." (If you don't know this elementary difference between load and line you should not be playing around with electrical wires!). Got the thing installed okay but found that after programming my outside lights did not turn on at dusk and off at dawn. Called the help line and learned my mistake: After programing the "Initial Setup" I never went on to the next step (which is clearly stated in the instructions) "Programming ON/OFF Events." Duh. The very nice electrician from Home Depot's help line was kind enough not to point out what a dork I was. Now that I have followed ALL the instructions the device works perfectly. Just like the one before it. And another we have had running for 3 years. My only problem was RTFI: Read the frigging instructions--even if you think you know it all! It may not keep time quite as accurately as my iPhone but it does a great job turning on at dusk and off at dawn, which is what I want. THe other features sound interesting but I have not tried them.

Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation Cons: you must read the instructions.

Video & Photos

  • DIY

mcguirejw

Mt. Laurel, NJ
65 or over,Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mcguirejw