Product Reviews For Defiant 20-Amp 7-Day 7-Event In-Wall Digital Timer

Overall Rating
3.4/5
  • A Great Replacement Control Switch/Timer
  • July 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I had a Honeywell timer/switch that was installed on a wall mounted towel drying rack that went out after 18 months of service. This is a better featured replacement! This is backlit and easy to read. It was easily programmed and has worked flawlessly for two months and counting.The instructions were clear and it was easy to swap out the original timer/switch.The timer feature can be over-ridden to turn on and off the towel bar when we aren't going to shower during the usual time.
  • By: Grumpy48
  • Works well, here are some tips....
  • July 14, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Purchased online, picked up in store in about an hour. Decided to tackle it today. I'm not an electrician and I'm probably dangerous, but reading the reviews here and online searches I did the following:1: shutoff the main circuit breaker (probably didn't need to, but if something goes wrong, it usually happens to me).2: had an wire tester around the switch, everything looks good and off3: disassembled the porch light switch and had 3 wires connected to it (hmm...new switch has 5)4: went to the directions and it talked about a neutral. Some googling, found the neutral(s) all bundled together (they were all white).5: green-->ground wire (so far so good)6: figured out this is a single pole and did not need the red wire, so capped it.7: "Line" v. "Load"...err...using the diagrams and direction of where the bundles were coming from, I connected the 1 black to line and 1 to load.8: before I reassembled, I needed to see if it worked. Supposedly the LCD should light up flashing the time. Turned circuit breaker on...no flashing. Great!9: the only thing I could think of is that I have the line/load reversed. Switched line/load and voila, got me a flashing clock/light.10: tested porch light (just push the button) and they came on!11: turned off circuit breaker ... and this ... stuffing all the wiring back in ... was the hardest part of the job.12: after all said and done, the programming was a snap and works as described.I would recommend this product and for y'all that are like me and scared to death of electricity, just shut off the main.
  • By: ImpliedConsent
  • Great purchase
  • July 07, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • I needed something to control the timing on the porch light so I didn't have a high electric bill. An associate told me that this would be a great addition. It saved me time and money from searching for a while new light fixture and works wonderfully.
  • By: HMFT
  • Great, easy to set up, looks good, works perfect.
  • July 01, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • Great, easy to set up, looks good, works perfect. Takes up a fair amount of room in a box.
  • By: MilwaukeeBob
  • Difficult to program
  • June 28, 2014
  • I know some have a greater knack for these things than others, but I have found this thing devilishly difficult to program.For one thing, the buttons and display are tiny and if you are at an age where you are experiencing any decline in eyesight or light sensitivity you will find the display hard to read. I find myself trying to hold a pencil to push the buttons and a small flashlight to read the display while simultaneously trying to read the instructions and punch the right buttons. Once programmed I have found it difficult to confirm that the programming is correct. For example last night my lights came on as desired but did not turn off in the morning. I feel like the only way to be sure will be to monitor what happens over the next week.The display is very confusing and I often don't know, for example, whether "on" means the numbered program is on or if it refers to the programmed on time for the lights. Also it is supposed to display the days of the week but, despite spending several hours with this I have never seen that choice displayed.In all fairness, the item appears to be of good quality and, in order to pack so many features into such a small space perhaps makes these problems inevitable.However, if based on what I have said you have doubts about your ability to program it, I suggest you beware.
  • By: Gator
  • Something wrong here....
  • June 22, 2014
  • No sure why, but I have bought 3 for the same light switch location and first failed after about a year, second, after 6 months or so. Now I'm on the third one that failed after 3 months... I even had an electrician look at it, and he couldn't figure it out. I think it's time for a different brand.
  • By: Kevin
  • Very practical to have light auto on
  • June 17, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • Like having front porch light on automatically at night. Set & forget!
  • By: James
  • Works as advertised
  • June 16, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • I bought this switch because I have an outdoor, LED can light over my front door. I wanted something that would switch on/off from dusk to dawn whether we are home or not. The wiring instructions were clear with one exception. At the very top it tells you to bend and snap-off an extra piece of metal if you have a 2 or more switch plate. It was obvious once I started to install the other switch. The programming instructions were straight forward. The random on/off feature worked perfectly. The hardest thing I encountered was getting all of the wires pushed far enough back in the junction box to screw this switch in. In total, install and programming took me 1-hour.
  • By: PerkinKS
  • Don't know yet
  • June 10, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • Old house won't easily accommodate installation, so I need to hire an electrician, an expense I hadn't anticipated. The product is probably fine but it will sit on my counter accumulating dust for awhile.
  • By: Dodo
  • Good Buy
  • June 10, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • this product does exactly what it is made to do. i've had it for about 3 weeks, so far so good
  • By: Angel