No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Works as advertised, driving a 1HP evap cooler motor, but...
  • June 27, 2013
  • Recommended Product

If you use the manual on/off button while it's in a programmed cycle, the entire cycle is cancelled until the next 24 hour cycle start. There appears to be no way to re-enable the current program cycle. IMO, pressing the Auto button should restore the current cycle.

  • Pro

SMinAZ

Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
55 to 64,Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SMinAZ
  • Could not be Happier
  • November 26, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I needed a couple timers to cut the outside lights on/off. I purchased Cree 60watt LED's for the bulbs and this timer because it supported LED. I have been using this timer for several months now and it works perfectly. Cuts on and off at the proper time. Not sure why there are so many complaints about the instructions as I was able to follow them and program times very easily. Also there are some complaints about interrupting the lights when Auto Timer is currently "ON" so I tested it out. After the lights Auto turned on I pushed the manual button to turn them off and then back on again. At the proper time the lights cut off as expected so either the company fixed this or someone is not doing something right. I highly recommend this product!

Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
  • DIY

shadowless

35 to 44,Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: shadowless
  • Defiant Timer Same as GE Sunsmart Timer
  • November 07, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Bought the Defiant on 11/4/14. Not an electrician. Had difficulty with the 5 wires that the timer has, but finally got it right -- timer to wall for single pole: white to white, green to copper, black to red, blue to black, and no connection for red (tied off with wire nut as instructed). Hard time getting unit in the wall with so many wires, but got it done. Followed instructions for initial set up and to program timer for lites to come on at dusk and off at dawn. Did this at nite around 9pm after sunset. The timer showed Auto Off. This means the lights are off. The timer worked the next nite. Called customer service to confirm what Auto Off meant. Sure enough when the timer lights came on, the unit showed Auto On.Before I figured it out, I looked for guidance on YouTube and found a tutorial for programming from Jasco Products on the GE Sunsmart Timer. Exact same as Defiant. Very helpful.Gave this 3 stars because instructions need bolstering, should be a video from Home Depot available and better wiring instructions, buttons and wording too small.

NJCustomer110414

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NJCustomer110414
  • This is a great timer!
  • July 21, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I installed this switch several weeks ago and have had no problems. I would suggest you have a basic understanding of wiring if you want to install this yourself. The directions could be a little clearer. Once installed it was easy to set up and use. I have not had a problem with the switch losing its programming when the power goes out. I've turned the circuit breaker off to this switch several times and the programming stays. The little door seems strong enough for me. It's not like you're going to be opening it all the time. It's a set it and forget it type of thing. This has been the perfect solution for turning my outside lights on and off at dusk and dawn. A great security addition.

Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design

Video & Photos

  • DIY

mixerman

Washington
45 to 54,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mixerman
  • Great little timer, full of features and a great price!
  • September 04, 2015
  • Recommended Product

With a little knowledge of how electricity and wiring works, this is very easy to hook up. I did have some difficulty getting the timer to fit in my box, and there is NO WAY I could fit another one beside it (like I originally wanted to). It does require the use of the white neutral wire, but in newer construction that shouldn't be a big issue.It fits nicely and looks good next to the other switches. Programming is a breeze too.The only thing that I would change is make the little cover door a bit more robust. While "man handling" mine to make it fit, one of the little nubs broke off the hinge part. Everything still works fine, I just have to "work" with it to get the little door back on after it's opened. Not a huge deal since once it's set, you really don't need to open it again.Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. I got it to turn on/off the up lights outside our house so that there is some kind of light out front at night. Does what it's supposed to do, so I'm happy.

Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation Cons: plastic cover a little flimsy

Video & Photos

  • DIY

Brian

Prosper, TX
35 to 44,Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Brian
  • Great Timer
  • November 28, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Lets deal with some of the issues mentioned here: It does have a manual override option. You don't have to wait 24 hours if you use the temporary override option. Use linemans pliers to break off the tabs for a multi gang switch configuration. If you have an extra or errant program, it will not function. The default setting in the programming for on is dawn. If you want your lights on at night, change this to Dusk for the on time and Dawn for the off time. There is no battery. It contains a charging circuit that holds the time and program for 2 or 3 hours. Wiring can be complex and hard to understand. The buttons are small but there is limited space to begin with. It will fit into a standard size box. Older homes(60's and earlier) did use smaller boxes. The instructions are small and a little hard to undestand. Call the Tech Support number for any issues. They are very knowledgeable and willing to help. This is a very dependable timer and very few are defective.

Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, great technical support
  • Pro

JPOZ

Carrollton, GA
45 to 54,Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JPOZ
  • From when Defiant became more expensive than GE?
  • December 14, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This product is the exactly same one with the GE Sunsmart Switch. GE product is $9 cheaper than Defiant. From when Defiant became more expensive than GE? Installation was easy but you need enough space in the switch box. If not, it's difficult to fit it into the box. I had to replace the box from 3 gang to 4 gang box.Pros: Work as expected. LCD backlight look beautiful.Cons: Expensive(than GE). Too big to fit into a small box.Neutral: Programming. Manual.

Pros: Lots of Features Cons: Too Big

Video & Photos

  • DIY

Joe

Atlanta, GA
35 to 44,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Joe
  • Great product - set it and forget it
  • April 01, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We now have three. Controls outside lighting - front porch, driveway, rear parking area. These timers were required when we started using LED bulbs. Programming is easy when you read the instructions thoroughly first. They make the mechanical timers obsolete.

Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
  • DIY

HLRJR79

65 or over,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HLRJR79
  • Works very nice!
  • May 13, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The timer was easy to install and works perfect! There are no hassles or cons to get it work. It is a perfect choice for having an on the wall timer.

Pros: Compact, Nice Design Cons: cables are long

Video & Photos

FJMG

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: FJMG
  • Pretty easy installation
  • May 06, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Let me start off by saying electrical work is not my strong point. LolThat being said I found this pretty easy to setup. my current configuration actually had a 2 black wires and the white neutral was wound up with a wire nut with other white neutral wires. it'd take me a little bit to figure out that the black on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires and the blue on the new switch goes to 1 of the black wires.Once I got it figured out everything setup just fine. Programming the switch was easy as following the directions.

Patrick139

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Patrick139