Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • powerful,light weight, easy height adjustment
  • March 28, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Cut grass with it first time. Louder than I had expected but still a lot quieter than my gas Honda mower. Cut my grass very short using the mulcher. Went over one area twice. Battery lasted about 40 minutes, recharged fully in about 30 minutes. Like the way it folds for storage and the easy cutting height adjustment. So light and easy to push that I don't miss the self propelled feature.

Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight, battery charges in 30 min, folds easilystands on end Cons: better quality blade, more noise than expected

PDQuick

Birmingham, AL, USA
65 or over,Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: PDQuick
  • I could not believe it!!!!
  • May 23, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I’m not a typical reviewer. I don’t normally want to waste my time telling someone I will never meet a lot of hot air about something I bought. However the reviews that were written prompted me to try this lawn mower and I thought I would pay it forward. I was extremely skeptical; thinking “What electric motor can be powerful enough to cut grass for an extended period of time?” Well folks I opened the box; {which was the hardest part of assembling the mower!!!} and I had this light weight beautifully designed machine ready to go in less than 5 minutes! I charged the 4ah battery to full capacity in less than 20 minutes. My lawn had grown to 15” high since my other mower died, and really thick in some spots. It had rained the night before so it was damp to boot. I pushed the green button down and pulled up on the safety handle and started cutting. It chewed through that grass like it wasn’t even there. Because it was thick and wet the discharge chute clogged up quickly but it continued to simply mulch whatever got under the deck!! I cut my entire front yard 50’ x 75’ without bagging, and my small back yard on one battery; one charge; in about 40 minutes and still had 15% battery life left. I folded it down to its suitcase size storage configuration; squirted the grass from under the deck and put the battery on charge. I’m tracking the number of recharges I can get out of the 4ah battery. All the power and features of a traditional mower but no more gas; no more fouled plugs; no more pulling to start; what a great mower. If you have been debating getting a cordless electric mower this is the only choice to make! I am so impressed with the quality and efficiency of this mower I would not hesitate to purchase ANY product from this company. I am President and CEO of a small corporation and I can only hope to produce such finely designed and efficient products! Kudos to E-GO on a job extremely well done! These folks will become the benchmark for others to emulate.

Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store

Video & Photos

VietVet

Ben Avon, Pa.
65 or over
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: VietVet
  • So Far Its Great!
  • June 06, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I purchased this mower in late April, and every time I have used it, I am still surprised. The biggest concern I had was - would it be able to mulch like my old gas powered 7hp mower. The answer so far is a resounding yes - in fact it may mulch better than my old mower.The Good:Lightweight - I do not miss the self-propelled feature at all and my front yard (which takes about 25 minutes to mow) is a hillNo more smelling like a refinery or inhaling noxious fumesI can mow at 8am without bothering the neighborsFast charging battery (I bought the trimmer to, so if the mower battery runs out, I can pop the 2amp battery in to finish the lawn - I have not needed to yet but I imagine I will when I do the leaves this fall)Easy to "assemble"Simple to startNo parts - no spark plug, oil tank, gas tank, oil filter, carb, etc....The Bad:It is expensive - but as a wise man once said - cost is an issue only in the absence of value - I still give it 4 out of 5 and would probably given it 4.5 out of 5 if I had the option.Cutting deck height only goes to 3.5 inches. I have tall fescue and would prefer to keep it at 4-4.5, but oh well - this is the reason why I did not rate it 5 out of 5.The Unknown:The battery is a complete unknown and is my biggest fear about this mower. My review is a "so far" because I don't know how long (how many charges, seasons) the battery will perform at this peak, and how many (hopefully years) in will it be before I need to replace it.The Bottom Line:It has been a great experience so far. I don't think I have mowed the lawn yet without coming inside and raving about the mower. It is actually EASIER to mow my lawn now than it was with my self-propelled mower (and frankly more enjoyable).

Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
  • DIY

wowed

richmond, va
35 to 44,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: wowed
  • Simply Amazing
  • April 12, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I don't normally write reviews but this machine inspired me to do just that. I live in the Pacific Northwest where in the spring the grass grows like crazy. I used to own a Sears Craftsman mower which lasted many years but was a complete pain to deal with...gas, oil, spark plugs, filter, winter storage, trips to the gas station, noise, pollution, etc.A few years ago I bought the Black and Decker battery mower but it couldn't handle the heavy damp grass that grows like wildfire here in the spring.Fast forward to last month when I took a leap of faith and shelled out $500 for this machine. All I can say is this is the best mower I've ever owned. From out of box to mowing down tall grass in a few minutes after topping off the battery which only takes 30min to fully charge.What peaked my interest was the success of Tesla motors using Lithium-ion power to go from 0-60 in 4 seconds. Battery technology has come a long way these days and while this mower doesn't jam through grass in <4 seconds at 60mph it certainly rocks the mowing world :-)As the other reviewers said - this is one great mower...and working great with damp Pacific Northwest grass as well!!! Before it goes back into the garage, I pull the battery out, flip it on its side and scoop out the grass that collects underneath the mower...after that the handles easily collapse and it stores really small in the garage!

Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
  • DIY

Pilot1

Redmond, WA
45 to 54,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Pilot1
  • Not a $500 product
  • March 26, 2015

I really really wanted this mower to work. I was looking forward to not having to deal with gas and spring startup problems with gas mowers and had my sights set on a string trimmer and blower as well. Unfortunately, my experience has been that the product is unreliable and at best might be used for light work in small yards. If I'm paying $500 I want much more than that.First one I bought was missing a piece and couldn't get power from the battery to the motor. Returned and replaced it.Replacement took much longer than specified to charge and didn't hold it's charge. First charge lasted half an hour. Second charge lasted 20 minutes, third 15, fourth about 10. It took two days to mow a fraction of my yard.Using the bag, the mower doesn't have enough power to move the clippings. Shortly after starting out the overload light came on. I backed the mower up and moved forward more slowly over the area just cut. The light stayed on. I lifted the mower and tons of clippings came out. I opened the back and there was a very small amount of clippings in the bag. The chute was totally clogged, all the way down to the blade. I pulled all of that out into the bag and started again. Didn't go very far before the overload light came on again. Checked the chute and it was clogged again.The handle must be fully extended for the motor to work. The clasps that hold it are cheap plastic and just pop open when you go over a bump. The handle collapses, the engine shuts off, you stop, put it all back and start again. Then you hit another bump. I would have fixed the clasps in place if the mower had worked better.

Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, Not Durable, poor battery life
  • DIY

MrGuel

Birmingham, Al
35 to 44,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrGuel
  • Lives up to the hype
  • May 05, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I was worried about whether the Ego could handle by third-of-an-acre yard, some of which has pretty thick grass. I needn't have worried. The Ego's battery lasts just long enough to complete the job, and in mulching mode it provides a very nice, smooth cut.The first thing my next-door neighbor commented on was how quiet the mower is, and he's right. Now I really take notice of the racket from other mowers in the neighborhood.This is the future of mowing. The only reason I see not to own the Ego is if you have a very large yard and need a riding mower. It's a pleasure to use in every respect.

Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store Cons: price

Video & Photos

  • DIY

MrSalty

Des Moines, IA
45 to 54,Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrSalty
  • Satisfied
  • July 13, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Starts easily, is very quiet, mulches well, and produces no fumes! Have not tried side discharge, bagging, or LED headlights. Could not quite finish my 1/3 acre lot on one charge using the 4.0 AMP battery without recharging. Not sure why EGO doesn't sell these mowers with the option to choose different AMP level batteries during initial purchase? Ordered another 4.0 AMP battery so I don't have to wait to recharge. Will likely purchase blower and string trimmer without batteries.As advertised, the 4.0 AMP battery lasts approximately 45 minutes and the rapid charger fully charges battery in 30 minutes.Concerned about the smell generated by the rapid charger while charging battery!

Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store Cons: charger smell

Video & Photos

  • DIY

EGOfan

Virginia
35 to 44,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: EGOfan
  • Gas mower never again!
  • August 11, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

What's not to like about this mower! It mows well. It pushes, folds up and stores easily. Mowing height adjustments are quick and easy. The battery is easy to put in and out and charges quickly. The two-position handle height is easy to change. After using gas mowers all my life, this is a god-send. Pay close attention to the instructions initially and chances are you will like this mower too.

Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
  • DIY

JimDC

Washington DC
65 or over,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JimDC
  • Not good for Bermuda.....
  • June 22, 2014

My brother has this mower and loves it so after my Toro (which was only 2 years old died) I thought I would go with some new technology....if you have a smaller yard it is probably awesome but I have a big yard with thick Bermuda grass and it just stalled out several times and when I lowered the mower to the height I desired...the mower continually stalled.I would also recommend less of a gap in the height adjustments...one was too high and when I lowered it the mower stalled and used a lot of battery quickly.

Pros: Light Weight, Easy to Store Cons: stalls in thick grass, battery goes fast in tough mowing conditions
  • DIY

Bermuda

Charlotte NC
45 to 54,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bermuda
  • Not Enough
  • June 24, 2014

Great ergonomics. Light, easy to charge and operate, stores compactly. Unfortunately, it does not have enough power/torque to cut thick (not tall) grass lower than the two high settings. The machine has a function that automatically powers down the motor when it senses that it cannot cut the grass. The operator then has to go through the whole cycle of starting the thing again after backing off or raising the deck. This is unsatisfactory for anyone with good, thick grass.Had to take it back, which Home Depot did.

Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store Cons: too weak
  • DIY

Roguewave

San Antonio, Tx.
65 or over,Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Roguewave