Product Reviews For Englander 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert

Overall Rating
3.9/5
  • Very good heat from this stove
  • April 22, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • When doing my research for a Pellet Insert I found that some complaints of this stove was the size of the hopper and that not all pellets didn't fall to the bottom of the hopper. I made sure I had enough room to add a 2000 Sq Ft. Pellet Stove Hopper Extension from Amazon made by Innovative Group Inc. for $134.00. The 2 items together make for a great stove and it holds more that 2 40lbs bags of pellets closer to 3. If you decide to try this option make sure that your fireplace opening is large enough and you are above average installer. The hopper extension is not made for the Insert but the freestanding stove so you have to make some mods to the extension.
  • By: Derf
  • Several serious design errors
  • March 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • The side panels are firmly screwed to the body you have to dismantle them to fix anything on the back.the ignition system is very weak as long as the flame doesn't come out in 10 minutes "E 2" will show up and shut down the stove.When you hook up thermostat to the stove under "H L" mode. the thermostat doesn't prevent temp pass the set temp and when you use "ON OFF" mode you will face weak ignition and the possibility to reduce the igniter's life.
  • By: Morning
  • works good, needs a little more engineering
  • February 19, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Overall is a good insert. Will not empty pellet bin all the way, but I knew that when I bought it. If u paint the bin with slick graphite paint it works better. Glass needs improved. Cant see through it after first day. Glass wont clean up very good.
  • By: johnboy
  • this pellet stove is awesome
  • February 06, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Completely heating my 1100 sq ft house with this stove. I have saved over $1000 on oil so far.
  • By: gator
  • Good quality, good price
  • December 19, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • There are more expensive and obviously better quality pellet stoves on the market, but one can save at least 1k and have a good stove for a good price. It's efficient and relatively easy to install.We live at 3400 feet of elevation in Southern California, the house is 1200 ft and has very high vaulted ceilings in the living room. I was spend in too much money in wood, propane and electricity to warm up the house in winter and I now am able to keep at a very comfortable temperature my entire place with this stove only. I start with a high/medium setting (5) for about one hour and then leave it at low set all day (2).I have ordered the remote control thermostat from the same manufacturer and I will install it so that I can have a fair temp also when I wake up. I use a door fan to push the warm air from the living room to the rest house and it does the trick.Only con is the hopper designed in such way that pellets need to be stirred up and pushed down towards the center where the auger is every couple of hours, otherwise they stick on the side walls and don't flow down continuously, causing the stove to shut down. Just make sure the hopper is filled up nicely before going to sleep or before leaving the house for several hours. I can live with that. I am glad I can save money and don't have to carry wood anymore.
  • By: cici
  • Very good unit.
  • November 24, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • This stove is very easy to put together and install. I the first two weeks are an indication of it's performance we are online to save about half our heating cost over last winter. We installed it on November 4th and are using about one bag a day. I installed a thermostat yesterday and is working perfect. very worth it.
  • By: BobinNH
  • Not the best designed product
  • October 29, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • Auger-feed is lousy, doesn't get all pellets, only the ones in the middle of the hopper, have to check the hopper frequently and manually move pellets directly over the auger. This makes it very unreliable when leaving it alone for the day or night. Also very difficult filling the hopper.
  • By: Scott
  • love it
  • October 22, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • easy to install, works great , warms the whole house
  • By: cris
  • Decent low end stove but has some serious design issues
  • October 01, 2013
  • Verified Purchase
  • I originally owned the freestanding Englander pellet stove with the double auger system with an extended hopper made to carry 80 pounds in my basement and decided I'd get a second stove from them as an insert to heat the upstairs since this first one worked so well. (I could burn it for 48 hours in between refills)Well now I know that was a mistake, this stove would be great if not for 2 seriously flawed design issues, both relating to the hopper. First issue is that this is a single auger stove with an auger tilted at an angle with no vertical drop before the auger (all 45 degrees) so the pellets instead of falling down on top of the auger hold and bunch up on the sides making the stove bring in less and less pellets as the hopper gets lower. Once the hopper is about 50% empty the amount of pellets feeding is noticeably smaller and as a result the flame starts sputtering out so you have to keep opening the lid and pushing the pellets towards the center or else the stove will turn off with about 30% of the pellets still in the hopper. You have to do this 3-5 times each load or else it will go out and turn off which is ridiculous.The other poor design flaw (which makes me wish I saw the stove in person instead of ordering online is that the hopper lid opening is TINY. Compared to the freestanding stove the lid is maybe 25% as deep so when you are filling the hopper with a bag you have to keep putting your hand in there and pushing the pellets towards the back of the stove to make room for the rest. And the hopper does not hold 40 pounds like it says you will never get more then 4/5ths of a 40 pound bag in there and if you are filling it when the stove is hot and having to stop rest the bag on the hot stove while you push the rest of the pellets toward the back of the hopper so you can pour more in as the bag starts giving off wonderful melting smells.Anyways, aside from those two boneheaded design flaws the stove seems to work well.... it annoying that I will have to always be around to make sure the pellets are feeding (and just to note, I have already done the recommended cleaning the hopper, polishing and adding graphite lubricant to make the pellets slide but the sliding issue has nothing to do with the materials surface on the side it has to do with the auger pulling pellets from the sides and having no vertical shaft to drop the pellets on top of the auger. I am almost tempted to pull the stove out and redesign the hopper with sheet metal to make it work properly now. BTW, if any representatives of this company read this. Your hopper lid should stick out to the front of the stove and slope in. There is no reason to have it so small. The extra money for an insert should be more then the same stove with less metal and no pedestal with a reduced hopper lid. DESIGN a real insert please not a chopped up freestanding stove for more money.I'd only recommend this stove if those two issues were fixed. If not this stove is a pain and only worth it if you plan on watching it like a hawk and flipping open that lid and shuffling pellets with your hand every 2-3 hours. Certainly not to be trusted to still be running if you leave the house for more than a few hours.
  • By: TESTyourPRODUCTS
  • Great so far!
  • March 12, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • I bought this after returning a us stove multi fuel insert. Everything has been great with this stove! I keep the auger on 2 and the fan on 9 and I go through 1.5 bags a day. Only problem is the small hopper. If you don't top it off before going to bed, you will wake up with no fire. There will still be 10-20 lbs of pellet in it but they get hung up on the sides. I use somerset pellets. Overall, I love it. Been using it for 2 months?
  • By: Mark