Product Reviews For Black & Decker 19 in. 24-Volt Cordless Electric Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Overall Rating
3.9/5
  • Power lever breaks off
  • April 21, 2012
  • I love everything about this mower except - from my experience and reading other reviews - the single point of failure is in the power lever on the handle. There is a little piece of plastic that breaks off inside the mechanism. Plastic. Breaks off. Try to get it fixed. The entire mower is headed for the landfill because of the power lever and no easy way to get it fixed or replaced. I won't be looking at Black & Decker cordless mowers - and I've been using them for about 18 years.
  • By: Oregon
  • Good service
  • December 08, 2011
  • Verified Purchase
  • I received the product as described. It works well. Unfortunately, the black and decker cardboard packaging is stronger than the orange plastic housing, which broke at a corner when I followed the instructions on the sheet but failed to notice the instructions on the box for unloading the mower.
  • By: Customer
  • Black and Decker CMM 1200 Cordless Lawn Mower
  • November 19, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Strong cutting power, battery holds charge for large yards and constant cutting. I'm very pleased with the CMM 1200 as well as my CMM 1000 mower. I have recommended this model to several individuals.
  • By: mgysgtretusmc
  • not worth the money
  • June 04, 2011
  • I had three of these lawnmowers and had to return all of them. One had a bad charger, and the other two got damaged decks form running over a small tree root. The deck is made of plastic and the blade has a strange s shape, so it's really easy to damage. After the first deck was damaged, I was extremely careful (and I am a very small woman), but I still managed to cut that deck. Black & Decker claim that the deck is quarranteed for life but of course they woudn't fix it ....I'll never buy Black & Decker again.
  • By: neworleansgirl
  • An ECO product
  • May 02, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Eco friendly, no fumes, quiet and must do a good job in a dryer climate. Washington State is very wet and therefore the grass gets way too long before it dries enough to cut. This mower is good but doesn't do well in long grass that is moist . I used it at the highest level but It stalled a lot. Battery runs out quickly under these moist circumstances. It must be great on really dry grass not too long and a smoother flat terrain. I have a slopey, bumpy terrain and it was hard to push and turn (since you are not supposed to pull it backwards). I am a senior citizen with arthritis in hands so this was more difficult for me. Recommend for dryer conditions, get an extra battery if you have wet conditions so it will run longer. I did a 10 X 12 area and it died while continually stalling, I had to really slow down and tilt the mower up in the front so it wouldn't stall. Needless to say it was exhausting for me. But I will keep the mower and wait until the grass is really dry, as I like the fact that it is a lighter mower with no fumes and little noise. Until then I hired a landscaper to get me going unitl it really dries up a little more in this state. BTW when it stalls it takes a while before it will start again. I pulled out the start key and inserted again and then tried to start, sometimes it worked sometimes it took more tries.
  • By: dblo7net
  • 19" cordless lawn mower
  • March 13, 2011
  • I have two of them. Both of them did a great job mowing and the battery life was as promised. I bragged to everyone about my green mower.Well after two years, the first mower lost the whole starting mechanism, it just broke off. I tried to get it fixed but no one wants to work on those mowers.So I decided to buy another one. It lasted one summer and low and behold the starting box, this time located in the front broke off as I was starting the mower. Once the plastic box is gone, there is a pin that you can push in with your thumb and the mower is workable but very painful. Needless to say the second mower joined the first and they are permanently parked next to each other in the garage.I would have given the product 5 stars if I could get it started and working!
  • By: renate007
  • Best Mower Ever
  • September 19, 2010
  • Recommended Product
  • This has to be the best lawn mow ever. I’ve used a gas powered mower, a push mower and a corded mower. With this electric mower. How many times have I had to go to the gas station to fill up a gas can, have it spill on my hands, car and over the top of the lawn mower onto the ground… …never. How many times have I had to add oil, spilling it on the ground, etc…. …never. How many times have I had to replace the oil, have it spill on the ground and have to take the old oil to a recycling center… …never. How many times have I had to constantly pull start the engine just to have it sputter for one of several possible reasons… …never. How many times have I had to replace the spark plug… …never. How many times have I had to replace the air filter due to lack of airflow preventing the engine from starting… …never. How often do I get a mow “with the wind” direction so I’m constantly inhaling noxious fumes… …never. How many times has the mower bogged down in tall wet grass so that I have to either slow down the pace or completely stop the mower… …never. How many times have I run out of gas while mowing… …never. All this for just a few dollars more than a regular mower with no need to ever purchase gas, oil, spark plugs, air filters, etc. I think that about covers it, I only wish I knew the benefits of an electric mower sooner.
  • By: Jasonch
  • piece of cake!
  • August 01, 2010
  • Recommended Product
  • skinny female with no strength ... not a good combo when trying to push a lawnmower over a 1/4 acre of grass in the heat of the summer. this mower has made mowing a breeze! so light to push and so easy to start! no yucky fuel smells. so clean! and the bag is great because i do not have to rake. the mower would only be better if there was a man to push it ...
  • By: whydidistartthis
  • Lasts One Year
  • July 15, 2010
  • Like the other reviewer with long-term experience with this mower, I found that it pretty much dies after one season. It's a piece of junk.I used it a dozen times last year. This year, after the 4th use, it now stops working after about 15 minutes on a full charge, so the lawn has to be mowed in two days. It's a battery issue. So I got 16 good uses for four hundred dollars. Not really a bargain.If you want to buy a new mower every year, by all means, this is your mower. It's great when it's working, but don't get attached to it.
  • By: JWAtlanta
  • Lightweight
  • June 23, 2010
  • Recommended Product
  • While easy to push & use , the overall power of this 24v. model is a little bit of a lightweight for a my Texas St. Augustine grass in a typical suburban yard. It is wonderful for avoiding the noise and fumes that the gas models belch out. The battery is still good after 3 1/2 years and I would probably buy another cordless but upgrade to the 36 v. version.
  • By: