Product Reviews For Heat Stream 125,000 BTU Forced-Air Kerosene Heater

Overall Rating
3.5/5
  • worked right out of box and still going
  • March 04, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • a good product, works as advertised. assembly was easy. I like the multifuel feature of this heater versus a one fuel heater.
  • By: racer89
  • Be great if worked properly
  • January 28, 2014
  • Verified Purchase
  • Shipping was quick, but having trouble keeping it going. Called Mfg. and working thru issues. Now they say because we received faulty product WE have to PAY to have shipped back. Not Happy
  • By: KL444
  • Puts out heat but has several shortcomings
  • December 07, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I have an un-insulated fairly large garage that becomes a literal icebox in the winter. Electrical "space heaters" do absolutely nothing in a garage like that. So, I bought this unit hoping to get some comfortable heat.The good news is that the unit can really throw out heat. So nice in that regard.The bad news is that the fuel gauge doesn't work at all on my unit. And the fuel cap is in a very awkward spot, so be sure to put fuel in the unit when you are outside so you don't spill all over the garage floor and get an unpleasant kerosene odor for a few weeks. And the digital thermometer is out to lunch -- I can't get it to display more than 40 degrees Fahrenheit.This unit does require some assembly, which I find personally frustrating. The instructions are sub-standard. For example, the manual says you should have parts that you don't have and don't need. And, the box has parts that aren't in the manual. For example, my box contained two axles when only one is needed. Furthermore, the illustrations do not accurately reflect the actual product in the detail that they should. I would prefer a pre-assembled unit in the box. One more thing -- the Consumer Helpline for this product is closed on weekends.Aside from the defects described above, I love how this baby puts out the heat and warms my large garage.
  • By: GolfNut
  • Did not work
  • December 04, 2013
  • Brand new out of the box and never worked. The fan came on and blew kerosene all over the place, but never ignited. I tried about 20 times, but it never worked. Took it back to Home Depot and went straight to Lowes. Bought a heater at Lowes and it worked the first time and has been a great heater.
  • By: tatersalad
  • You get a good product for the monrey
  • November 19, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Good quality heater for the money. Keeps our shop area warm.
  • By: ACTINC
  • For the size of the heater, it is quiet.
  • April 09, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • This replaced another brand that did not perform as needed. I like the volume of heat and ease of controls.
  • By: BigDaddy
  • Just what I needed - Works great
  • March 20, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product
  • Unit was missing some hardware for the wheels. Factory sent the parts right out, no problem. Fuel consumption does not seem to be too bad. Fuel filler is in bad location. Buy a flexible funnel and a bungie cord to hold it in place while filling. problem solved.Pretty strong smells on first time use. After that the smell reduced significantly. I have a 40x50 shop with 16ft ceiling and it went from 40 deg. to about 60 in about an hour. Then thermostat kept temp so even I worked in just a tee shirt. Wheels allow me to move it out of the way on warm days. Glad I chose this model. Just the right size and works great.
  • By: George
  • Good heater, used at work
  • January 22, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I am a helper at a tile company. I'm on the wet saw quite a lot which is cool, except for in the winter time. And then it's really cool. Used one all day for a couple days in a garage at a jobsite and it did the trick. No complaints at all. Kept me warm, kept my hands working, helped thaw out the saw in the morning and even kept helped dry out the towels (BONUS!).
  • By: Lukehhhhhh
  • review update
  • December 31, 2012
  • Recommended Product
  • origionally it wouldnt run(fan wouldnt start or when fan did, it would only run for a few minutes then die. All the troubleshooting tips for this problem didnt help. I decided to pull the pump off, thinkin this was the problem either jammed or no fuel pumping to the injectors. I pulled apart the pump using an impact driver to loosen the screws. I found that the pump is actually a vane vacuum pump. the vanes spin and create a vacuum sucking fuel up into the injectors. After finding nothing jammed, I found that the mtr would not turn. I then loosened the four screws(with the impact driver)that hold the pump end to the fan end. the mtr then turned freely. I retightened the four mtr screws, it still turn freely. I reassembled the vacuum pump. turned it on and it runs flawlessly...I guess mtr just wast aligned properly before being scewed together.Now starts every time and thermostat works well as it turns on and off as the temp changes.
  • By:
  • wont stay running
  • December 28, 2012
  • Brand new,Assembled easily. fan wont start on occaision which prevent startup. also when fan does start it will only run for a few minutes. as the motor will slow down then speed up a few times then unit just shuts down. motor/ pump sounds like something is rubbing as when it does run. I thought the fan was hitting something at first. but its not the fan, just sounds like it is. fan blade is pressed onto collar then collar has a set screw to stay on mtr shaft. After trying to get running for a few hours fan blade now slips on collar so it had to be spot welded to turn with collar. noise might be a bad pump, mtr is very hot after it shuts down...trouble shooting instructions didnt help
  • By: johncart