Product Reviews For Rust-Oleum Transformations 1-Qt. Natural Stone Tile Finish Kit

Overall Rating
4.0/5
  • Amazing results!
  • January 11, 2014
  • Recommended Product
  • After researching ways to paint my seriously ugly pink tiled 1970's era shower, I came across this product. I read all the reviews I could find on it and watched the "how-to" video a couple of times. I decided to give it a try (by myself - it's a very small shower) and I am extremely pleased with the results. I definitely recommend watching the video a few times so you're familiar with the process, but it's still quite easy. If you've ever done much painting, you can do this. I'm not a contractor and I save the most serious DIY projects for professionals. Plan on not being able to use your tiled area for at least 3 days because you'll really need to adhere to the wait times (including waiting for the caulking to cure afterward). The coverage area stated on the box is somewhat conservative, but close to accurate. When they recommend having sufficient lighting, they mean it. It's very easy to miss spots. I went from pink to the darkest grey (I think it was "slate.") and even without grout lines (which I don't miss at all), it looks fabulous. It totally changed the look of my bathroom. I painted the walls a light silver, added brushed nickel accents, and popped the color with cranberry colored towels. Instead of an outdated 70's look, I now have a bathroom that looks rich and inviting. Total renovation of under $200 and SO worth it. Oh - and just an FYI- I'm a woman - so, ladies, if you're wanting to make a change (I'm talking tile, here) don't be daunted by this. It's time-consuming, but easy!
  • By: lorsaloo
  • Change Is Great!!!!!
  • December 09, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • This product is very easy to use. The two ingredients are premeasured so the only thing is to pour one bottle into a can (twice). The hardest was taping the tub off :) LOL
  • By: Renee
  • Color is not right
  • November 26, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I bought the tile transformation kit in white frost. I followed the instructions exactly and also watched the how-to video. Everything went well except when it dried the color looks bluish gray and not white at all. The tiles I covered were white so I don't know why it came out that color.
  • By: Dede
  • Tile transformation was the answer!
  • November 12, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Make sure you mix your color from the box before you leave the store. This paint was the answer. It went on really tacky so I knew it would cover my 1950's pink wall tiles in my bathroom. Following directions is a must. The pink is now Almond and it looks great. I did run out as each kit only covers a certain amount of square footage. I wish they would make where you can get individual cans rather than buying another kit just to finish. I only did the first step painting the almond and left off the "natural stone" look.
  • By: 32526
  • Followed directions and product looked good at first and did not last
  • September 24, 2013
  • Followed directions and product looked good at first and did not last as it soon bubbled and pealedI ended up replacing cast iron tub and tile surround
  • By: yojamey
  • Economical way to transform your tiles
  • September 16, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • I had purple tiles throughout the entire bathroom. This product was wonderful. It is a little unusual and took a feel to get to paint the tile but take heed when they tell you not to go back over dried product. The kit covers 50 sq feet of tiles and I had 70. When I went to prepare the next kit to finish the job, I didn't think it would have dried in that time. I was wrong and the color was then not consistant in that section. DO NOT TRY to fix your error, you will only make it worse. The best thing is that Rustoleum has an 800 number and will stand by their product to help you fix any error that was made.Other than my own error, this product is wonderful!!!! It looks like the tiles were newly put up and updated when in fact they've been there for over 50 years.
  • By: mjhdoglover
  • Good Product, but Not for What We Wanted it For
  • September 12, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • We got this intending to do our shower, just for a different look. We did a small test on some spare tiles first and realized the surfacing just wasn't what we wanted for the shower. It was too big a contrast with the rest of the tiled bathroom, and we weren't sure the rough surface would be very useful or practical.We did finally decide to use some of the tile we had to create a backsplash area in our unfinished basement, around the washtub installed next to the washer and dryer. We built the backsplash and tiled it, then used this material on the tile, and it did a great job there. We like the look of it (although there isn't anything there for it to match) and it seems to be holding up well.It was a little bit of a hassle to apply, with the three different components, but it wasn't too difficult a job, and was something just about anyone could apply to a shower in a day.
  • By: DrDave
  • great idea to update my bathroom
  • September 07, 2013
  • had a professional painter apply a white color to my bathroom tile. It looked great for a couple of months but now it is yellowing and looks terrible.
  • By: Thomas
  • Good product for low-budget tile face lift
  • August 06, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • The Rust-Oleum Tile Transformation product is a cost effective alternative to re-tiling a bathroom or kitchen wall. The application was a simple update to 1970s bathroom tile. Be sure to read the directions several times prior to applying the Rust-Oleum Tile Transformation product. I would also highly recommend watching the Rust-Oleum instructional videos before you dive into your project. The instructions that come with the product are sufficient to make the application go smoothly. The bond coat has a 90 minute working time but be sure to work one area at a time while edging in with the brush and applying the wall coat with the ¼’’ nap roller. Once the bond coat starts to dry it becomes extremely sticky. A second set of hands for the bond coat application would be helpful. I would highly recommend two people working together during the application of the natural stone finish (2nd coating).
  • By: schlafe
  • Transformed our 1947 Yellow and Green Tile
  • July 28, 2013
  • Recommended Product
  • Well I must confess, I was hesitant at first but this was easy and it turned out great! As long as you come into the project knowing there will no longer be grout lines, Yay, then you will love the results. We had very outdated Yellow tile with a green center tile running through the middle, we used the Biscuit color and it covered everything perfectly. You do have to take time and not rush through the process. The results were worth every cent. If you can paint, a DIY'er can do it. I have attached pics of before, during, and after.
  • By: Brenda