Your Recent Searches
Savings Alerts

Sign up to recieve special offers and promotions for The Home Depot!

No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • So good, I'm going to do a second bathroom
  • June 22, 2013
  • Recommended Product

We wanted to freshen our bathroom of 30 years without a lot of hassle. So, this product was worth a try.It works!Tearing out our tile would be a huge job. In those days they laid tile on thick mortar. Not only does this make the tear out difficult, it also makes for a tough match if you replace it with the newer tile backer board.I love the look now, but the proof will be in durability, something none of us will know for a few years. Let's take that when it comes. Early indications are that this will work great. I really like the way it seals the grout lines. Beware, some may not like that look. That's part of what makes it easier to clean, and also helps change the look. It ultimately goes down as a thick plastic-like layer.I think the instructions are great. Watch the video a few times, it is very helpful. The instructions about tape removal and extensive drop cloths are important. Follow them. The first coat is particularly messy.My shower surface is 48 sq. ft. I had no problem with coverage. I think I could have made 60.A few tips I discovered:- Prepare, then prepare some more. I spent at least 6 hours in preparation. Scrubbed 3 times with the last time being the powder they gave. Then, I spent a lot of time getting rid of every caulk trace. This took some time with a blade and solvent.- On the first coat, you really want to get a lot of product on the roller. I found that "sliding" the roller sideways on the grout lines first was a good trick. Then do the rolling. Otherwise it is hard to get paint into the grout lines. My only goof up was in touch up with the foam brush on a missed grout section. I went too hard with the foam brush and now that grout line has a different texture. Be careful of that touch up step.- You can work with a partner or not. It is a small area. I did it alone. It was fine. The second step dries quicker, so you'll need to work fast. But I had no problems.- Tape carefully, but remove items if you can. Look at one of my pictures. I removed the shower valve escutcheon. This makes for a much cleaner and easier application. And make sure to cover all your chrome and soap holders, etc. I think it is easier to put a lot on the first coat so some of the paint will be flying and dripping.- Cleanup of tools? No. Throw your brush and pans away. Forget about it! I bought two low-end brushes for trim and they worked fine. I made sure to wipe my roller frame bar with solvent before putting it away. This small step is not mentioned in the instructions.I only had one problem with this product and that was choosing a color. This is really hard because the samples on the box are so small. Pulling it up on the internet was not much help either, since it doesn't give true color.So here's my tip which worked well for us. The samples on the box are the best color match. When you are at the store, go to the paint section and choose a few chips that are close to the box top samples (you can compare right there). Then you can bring home those chips to your house for comparison. It would help if rust-oleum provided chips. Maybe they do and my paint guy didn't know, but in any case, this trick worked for us. I have a picture to the right showing how small the samples are.We are pleased! We'll give this some time and if it looks like it has durability, we'll do our second bathroom next year.

Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, good video instructions

Video & Photos

  • Seeds
  • Top 250 Contributor

wxray

Raleigh, NC
45 to 54,Male
42 out of 42 people found this helpful
more details...
By: wxray
  • I'd used it again
  • February 15, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I couldn't be happier with the results! I started with tiles that were installed in 1965, and were very outdated (bumpy blue and white pattern). I'm almost finished installing the new row of decorative tile to really show it off and think it looks great.I read the directions twice AND watched the video and had no problems. The tiles were pretty clean to begin with but I cleaned them again. I worked with a partner like the directions suggested, in case the drying time exceeded my ability to roll (it didn't), then applied the optional topcoat the next day.Everyone who sees it is surprised when I tell them about this kit. My son was with me when I purchased it. He was a doubter but tried to dig his fingernail into the finish a week later and couldn't even make a scratch.It is difficult to clean off of anything which only makes sense since you DON'T want it to come off easily later, right? When the directions say to cover everything...they mean it. I did get a little dot of product here and there which came off with a razor blade.I did think the price tag was a bit high. It's cheaper than tearing it all out and starting over but a big investment if you can't make the product work.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly

Video & Photos

  • DIY

BeckHart


45 to 54,Female
38 out of 38 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BeckHart
  • does the job
  • May 06, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I must admit I was dubious before trying this product. Painting over ceramic tiles seems a little crazy. However, this product works, is easy to use, and exceeded all my expectations.The most important part of any project like this is preparation. In this case, that means stripping all the old caulk, and repairing the grout to a solid condition, cleaning all surfaces scrupulously, and taping-off all edges. This is by far the most time-consuming part of the job, as with any painting project. In my case, once I started picking at the old grout, a number of tiles came loose, and I ended up doing a fair amount of repair before I could even get to the refinishing. You will also want extra lighting to be able to see little details like grout lines.The product has two coats, and each coat is two separate components that are mixed before use. In addition, the first coat must be tinted to the color of your choice at the store, included in the purchase. Do not tint it until you have all your preparation done, as it must be used within 7 days after that! I was expecting a two-part paint to be some sort of epoxy, but for all intents and purposes this is a normal oil-based paint. Once you mix the two components, the clock starts ticking and you don't want to dawdle.The first or base coat is very sticky, and with the short nap of the roller, it takes some special effort to get it into all the grout lines. Working at a normal pace, I had no problem covering the entire area without having the paint start to set up on me. I made no effort to 'stretch' the paint, and found the manufacturer's coverage estimate for the first coat to be quite conservative. When painting, concentrate on the grout lines, and the tiles will get covered in the process.The biggest problem I encountered with the first coat was that it would pull out any loose bits of grout that you missed, which would stick to the surface. You can flick them off with a fingertip. Since it is supposed to be a stone finish, you actually want the orange-peel or roller crinkle, and don't have to do a perfect job. It dries slow enough that there is plenty of time to fix drips and runs. I let it dry normally until it was no longer tacky, then baked it on overnight with a space heater. In just a day, it dried rock-hard, I mean really hard, you couldn't dent it with a fingernail.( For my job, I was expecting to need two kits, but ended up only using one can of the base coat. So instead of touching up the missed spots in the grout with a brush, I lightly sanded the whole area and applied the extra can as a second base coat, at which point it looked really terrific. )The second or 'stone' coat goes on similarly but much easier, since at this point everything is sealed up and smoothed-over, you're using a higher-pile roller, and the consistency is much thinner than the base coat. A certain amount of hurry-up is required for the second coat, as it sets up much faster than the first coat. You can stretch the drying time a bit by working under the coolest conditions you can. The speckles in the second coat will hide any imperfections in the first coat. I actually used about 1-1/2 cans of the stone finish to cover the whole job, exactly matching the manufacturer's coverage estimate. The stone finish is rather unforgiving, it has more tendency to run, and there is little time to go back and fix mistakes, so you need to work fast and accurate.I disregarded the instruction to remove the masking tape between coats. The result was that the masking tape had become very strongly adhered to the walls, and had to be slit and scraped off with a razor blade, really not that big a deal, but you might want to avoid that and follow the instructions. The base coat cleans up easily with mineral spirits; the stone coat is probably the same, I never found out. Again, I let the stone coat dry normally until it was no longer tacky, then baked it on overnight with a heater. I put the extra paint in the freezer to keep it for any touch ups needed later.So, the final result? The entire tiled area is now covered with a single continuous, very hard, slightly rough, totally impervious faux-stone surface. All grout is completely covered and sealed. It looks great, much better than the old tile. Anything that was a little loose or questionable is now all bonded together solid. A horizontal tile surface that was previously very damaged is now as waterproof as a pane of glass. The surface is comparable to fiberglass, and I would expect it to wear very well.For a product that can be applied by any homeowner with good painting skills, I'd say this is a terrific way to remodel a bath without all the trouble and expense of re-tiling. Although the instructions call for a two person team, I did the entire job alone, using just the included rollers and one roller pan that I dried and reused 3 times. If you have an easy time prepping (which I didn't) you could probably pull off the whole job in a weekend, as the instructions show. When re-tiling is necessary, this is no substitute, but to refresh and renew basically solid tile, I certainly recommend it.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
  • Seeds
  • Top 250 Contributor

tilepainter

nj
45 to 54,Male
36 out of 36 people found this helpful
more details...
By: tilepainter
  • Transformed our 1947 Yellow and Green Tile
  • July 28, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Well I must confess, I was hesitant at first but this was easy and it turned out great! As long as you come into the project knowing there will no longer be grout lines, Yay, then you will love the results. We had very outdated Yellow tile with a green center tile running through the middle, we used the Biscuit color and it covered everything perfectly. You do have to take time and not rush through the process. The results were worth every cent. If you can paint, a DIY'er can do it. I have attached pics of before, during, and after.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly

Video & Photos

  • DIY

Brenda

Sacramento, CA, USA
45 to 54,Female
29 out of 29 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Brenda
  • Really Great Stuff!
  • June 26, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I took before pictures but somehow lost them transferring them to my computer but I have after shots. The most difficult and time consuming part was cleaning my old tile and re-grouting. I didn't have a partner so I had to work fast by myself. Once you mix parts A and B they become solid within 30 minutes or so but the base paint goes on smooth and covers without much effort. The top coat dries a little faster and is harder to apply. It is best to work with a system of rows as you paint so that you don't forget where you applied paint (especially the top coat). Whatever you do, don't go over the top coat, it will mess up the even finish color. The use of this kit is a one shot deal so be prepared to finish the whole thing at one time. This is really great stuff and looks & feels like regular tile. The only thing is that I wish I had picked one of the sandier shades instead of "Biscuit" because this shade is off white but too close to white.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly Cons: difficult to remove

Video & Photos

  • Seeds
  • Top 250 Contributor

Stephie

Woodhaven, New York USA
65 or over,Female
19 out of 19 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Stephie
  • Final results look GREAT!!
  • February 15, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I have a bathroom that hadnt been updated since it was built in the 40's with off white tile. I updated the shower fixtures and installed a single mixing valve, in the process I had to rip out some tile and couldnt find matching tile, plus it was old and had some imperfections so whenI saw this product I thought it would be a great alternitave to gutting my bathroom. I replaced the tile in the shower, the tile job I did was not good since I had to rebuild the backing for the tile, and the tile was not the correct size.I have a friend who is an experienced painter, I had him come over and help me paint the tile but he ended up doing most of the work because it was quite dificult to work with, as stated in the previous review. because of the textured stonelike finish and the fact that it colors the grout lines too, you can barely notice my horrable tile job and my bathroom looks brand new. my friends thought it was new tile. maintenance is verry easy too. I have a lot of minerals in my water but it doesnt build up on the tile any more. Plus I like how it seals the tile and grout so I'm surwe to know that no water is geting inbetween the grout. All in all, Great final results, great way to extend the life of your bath, but not easy to work with.

Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, cleans easy, Durable Cons: difficult application, dries too quickly

Kris


12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kris
  • was anticipating disaster
  • April 07, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I was a little apprehensive about using this product, but after applying it I am more than pleased. My tile was white and blue with daisies all over (horrible 80's tile). I chose to use the natural white stone color. I love the way it looks and application was so easy (as long as you follow the directions). I read the instructions and watched the video on the rustoleum website. The only bad thing that I can say is that it was super messy, a lot of that was my fault. I was wearing latex gloves while I was painting, but the paint started to dry on my gloves and was making everything super sticky. I dropped some on the floor, but it cleaned up easily with some acetone. Also, the 1/4" roller was losing some of the nap throughout application. I would definitely use this product again. I just hope it holds up well.

Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern
  • DIY

frugalwife

Utah, USA
25 to 34,Female
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: frugalwife
  • Economical way to transform your tiles
  • September 16, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I had purple tiles throughout the entire bathroom. This product was wonderful. It is a little unusual and took a feel to get to paint the tile but take heed when they tell you not to go back over dried product. The kit covers 50 sq feet of tiles and I had 70. When I went to prepare the next kit to finish the job, I didn't think it would have dried in that time. I was wrong and the color was then not consistant in that section. DO NOT TRY to fix your error, you will only make it worse. The best thing is that Rustoleum has an 800 number and will stand by their product to help you fix any error that was made.Other than my own error, this product is wonderful!!!! It looks like the tiles were newly put up and updated when in fact they've been there for over 50 years.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly Cons: dries very quickly

Video & Photos

  • DIY

mjhdoglover

Bensalem, PA 19020, USA
45 to 54,Female
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mjhdoglover
  • Very practical for low cost renovation
  • June 27, 2013
  • Recommended Product

This is a great product if you can accept that it is purely a cosmetic fix. It is a very painless way of erasing an ugly shower. We are selling our home and didn't think that a mix of hunter green and white tiles would do us any favors in the process. Two days later we had a neutral shower that made us very happy.I have a couple tips. 1) Clean the tile thoroughly with the solvent provided. 2) Repair any imperfections and fill in missing grout (If you don't, it will be very obvious). 3) Get a top of the line painting tape with edge blocking abilities. 4) Don't skimp on the base coat and buy more than one kit to get the job done.I plan on using this product again in the new house that we have purchased and can't wait to see the results.

Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern
  • DIY

DIYSue

Mesa
35 to 44,Female
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DIYSue
  • Amazing results!
  • January 11, 2014
  • Recommended Product

After researching ways to paint my seriously ugly pink tiled 1970's era shower, I came across this product. I read all the reviews I could find on it and watched the "how-to" video a couple of times. I decided to give it a try (by myself - it's a very small shower) and I am extremely pleased with the results. I definitely recommend watching the video a few times so you're familiar with the process, but it's still quite easy. If you've ever done much painting, you can do this. I'm not a contractor and I save the most serious DIY projects for professionals. Plan on not being able to use your tiled area for at least 3 days because you'll really need to adhere to the wait times (including waiting for the caulking to cure afterward). The coverage area stated on the box is somewhat conservative, but close to accurate. When they recommend having sufficient lighting, they mean it. It's very easy to miss spots. I went from pink to the darkest grey (I think it was "slate.") and even without grout lines (which I don't miss at all), it looks fabulous. It totally changed the look of my bathroom. I painted the walls a light silver, added brushed nickel accents, and popped the color with cranberry colored towels. Instead of an outdated 70's look, I now have a bathroom that looks rich and inviting. Total renovation of under $200 and SO worth it. Oh - and just an FYI- I'm a woman - so, ladies, if you're wanting to make a change (I'm talking tile, here) don't be daunted by this. It's time-consuming, but easy!

Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
  • DIY

lorsaloo

Denver, CO
45 to 54,Female
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lorsaloo